Were previous console jumps only 8-10x improvements?

Orion

Regular
The psone to ps2 jump saw both a massive increase in transistors as well as clockrate, going from 30sh mhz to 300mhz. The ps2 to ps3 sees a jump from 300Mhz to 3sh Ghz as well as large jump in transistors.
While psone games had 3k polys per frame ps2 has 100sk poly per frame and ps3 millions polys per frame, iirc.

It seems to me like the jumps were larger than 10x.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am not a hardware expert. However, I think the previous improvements were greater than 8-10. The issue we now face is diminishing returns. To get the same improvement in quality we got from the PS2 to the PS3, we would need a system with much more powerful hardware than the PS4. Personally, I think the PS4's RAM is possibly enough. However, I think we would have needed a more powerful GPU.

However, there will be big jumps in performance other than just realism. With the PS4 worlds will be much bigger, there will be more characters on the screen at once, etc. If you don't care about photorealism (and Crysis 3 level games are good enough for you) the PS4 is a dream machine.

The PS1 and PS2 generations lasted about 5 years. For things that follow Moore's Law such as CPU, that's about 10x progress. However, I think the GPU were progressing well beyond Moore's Law around the PS2 days.

http://csgillespie.wordpress.com/2011/01/25/cpu-and-gpu-trends-over-time/
gpu4.png

Pay attention to the slopes on this graph (and the vertical axis is logarithmic scale). The CPU FLOPS were roughly following Moore's Law but GPU FLOPS could be >100x in 5 years. So, the PS2 to PS3 generation leap was much better than a 10x jump.

A somewhat related matter is GPU processing power no longer progresses as quickly as before 2009. That means while PS4 will be less powerful relative to PC at launch, PC GPU power may not have grown as much as in the PS3 era a few years down the line in ratio terms.

Last edited by a moderator: