Volume rendering CPU & GPU

Discussion in 'Rendering Technology and APIs' started by Voxilla, May 13, 2018.

  1. Voxilla

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    110
    Now possible to combine transparent polygons with voxel based objects:
    Images rendered with either a GPU(DX11)/Windows or CPU(AVX2/AVX512/ARM)/Windows/Linux/Android/IOS

    See also:
    http://volumize.be/videos.html
     

    Attached Files:

    OCASM, eloyc, nutball and 1 other person like this.
  2. Voxilla

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    110
    I wonder if the new Intel discrete GPU also would be usefull for volume rendering:
     
  3. eloyc

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    571
    This could go into this thread. ;-)
     
  4. Malo

    Malo YakTribe.games
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,120
    Likes Received:
    2,135
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Did you even watch the video?
     
  5. Voxilla

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    110
    Of course, why you ask?
     
  6. MDolenc

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Because it's not a new discrete GPU... That's one of the Larrabee prototypes. Close to 10 years old now.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  7. Voxilla

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    110
    There must be a reason there is an overlay '... prototype ...'
     
  8. Malo

    Malo YakTribe.games
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,120
    Likes Received:
    2,135
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Clearly you watched it... the card he managed to buy is a prototype model. It doesn't mean it's a NEW prototype.
     
  9. Voxilla

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    110
    Indeed, you could call it a collector's item, there must be not many of them around.

    "A June 2007 PC Watch article suggested that the first Larrabee chips would feature 32 x86 processor cores and come out in late 2009, fabricated on a 45 nanometer process."

    Obviously if Intel would these days launch a new discrete GPU it would be on at least 14nm.
    In theory a process shrinked original Larrabee could feature 9x32 CPU cores, each of them having AVX 512.
    256 of these already would be decent. At 1 Ghz this would equate to 16 TFlop/s.
    (alternatively 128 of them at 2 Ghz)
     
    #9 Voxilla, May 18, 2018
    Last edited: May 18, 2018
  10. Voxilla

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    110
    Anybody thinks we need to start an Intel discrete CPU/GPU speculation thread ?
     
    Lightman likes this.
  11. Voxilla

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    110
    Lightman likes this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...