Video Drivers and Game Devs ... how does the relationship work?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by slapnutz, Dec 6, 2008.

1. slapnutz

Regular

Ok, I'm not a programmer so I'd like clarification on the following. Why is it when certain new games are released, new video drivers also have to be released to fix certain issues?

The way I see it, when youre making a game, you already have a snapshot of the curent video driver currently released. So wouldnt to design your game to work best with that driver? If people have to update their drivers after a game is released, what does that say about the video manufacturers?

I mean e.g. the Geforce 8800 series has been out for more than a year and yet driver upgrades are required for newer games? Surely wouldnt Nvidia have worked out all the driver bugs by now or is it the game developers fault? I mean the game devs already had a reference driver to work with so why couldnt they code there game to work properly with that version.

Just seeing new video drivers for games like, Far Cry 2, Crysis and yes, GTA4 come out a week after the release is a bit weird.

I mean when GTA4 was being made, Rockstar had access to the current nvidia driver so it was NOT an unknown variable in the equation. So why is it to fix all these "issues", a newer driver is required. Its kinda feels like Nvidia is saying "what! you coded what into your game?! Well, we never planned for our hardware to work well with that code. Looks like we'll have to redo the driver again!"

Sorry if the above is a rambling mess. Its my crappy simpletons way of asking a technical question.:smile2:

2. Rodéric

Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

Let's just say that not all devs follow IHV recommendations, and that budgets are sometimes tight.