Trouble with HD5850

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by Hazuki Ryu, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. karlotta

    karlotta pifft
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    oregon
    Both where powercolor?... They may have sent back the same card! always make a small mark so you can identify it...
     
  2. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Uh...do those games have issues with 9.11 per chance?
     
  3. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes they do.
     
  4. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done that :) and they gave me a new one it was opened in front of me.
     
  5. Broken Hope

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    I have similar but not as severe errors on Prince of Persia if I enable AA, either forced or through the launcher, with AA disabled it's fine. I'm guessing it's a driver bug.
     
  6. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disabeling AA fixed it for me too thanks.
     
  7. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    I have one game (prototype) where I can fix a texture problem simply by changing my AA mode in-game. It will come up borked - change it and it's fixed. Not off, just different setting.
     
  8. jaredpace

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    flash the 5850 to the updated bios w/ displayport fix, or flash to an asus or msi bios, flash the p5nd to the newest bios, and get the latest chipset drivers. Isn't p5nd an nvidia 780i mobo?

    Run some benches with cpu @ stock and compare to cpu @ OC. You can also try some tests at various pci-e bus widths & frequencies... like 4x, 8x, and steps between 103-113mhz

    You have a clean OS install? Try removing older versions of drivers via safemode & cleaners, try the latest ati driver - jan13th 8.70 RC2 (10.2/10.3 betas) CCC, make sure your os has the most recent patches & updates via windows update.

    Hope one of these suggestions works for you. Btw, 24fps crysis vs. 26fps in the Toms bench could be the i7 + x58 vs. the c2q + nvidia
     
  9. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a nv 750i, I flashed the HD5850 with an asus bios a while ago.

    I'll try that, I've run the benches at stock speed in some games it's signifacntly worse others not really.

    Yes it's a clean install.


    It could be, in some cases it seems to be performing very well but others not so much framerate drops in assassin's creed are pretty weird, thank's for the suggestions.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...