Toshiba's Cell TV

Discussion in 'CellPerformance@B3D' started by patsu, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,611
    I think the price is not announced yet. Found a preview below. Rather sleek UI. They should expand more on the media management functions. The DVR should be optional unless it's there "at no extra cost" (e.g., use network file system, or DLNA):



    As usual, the other TV manufacturers should see if there are any good ideas to steal (or learn not to do).

    I like the part where I don't have to surf the channels and can see all of them at once. How many TV tuner does this thing need ?
    It's also supposed to stream content to different TVs at the same time.
     
  2. green.pixel

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,306
    Location:
    Europe
    Hey patsu, while we're at it, do we know what kind of tech Samsung uses with their 2D->3D conversion? :)
    http://xbox360.ign.com/dor/objects/.../videos/ces10ford_gears3d_010910.html?show=hi


    http://ces.cnet.com/8301-31045_1-10427438-269.html
    I suppose it's not the Cell, otherwise they would've mentioned it in their press/marketing talk?
     
  3. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,611
    With the 3D tide rising, I suspect many manufacturers will have similar solutions. JVC has a 2D-3D conversion box too:



    Until we see them side by side, I don't know the differences between their approaches. According to the guy above, the JVC one is not as good as the bests out there.

    So far, the Cell TV seems to be the most feature rich (480Hz rendering, 48 real time TV thumbnails, DVR, routing channel to another HDTV, etc.). Some of the features sound like overkill though.


    EDIT: Found it !

    http://giz3d.com/550/3d-displays/samsung-3d-chip-auto-conversion-of-2d-to-3d-available-in-mid-2009

     
  4. green.pixel

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,306
    Location:
    Europe
  5. Carl B

    Carl B Friends call me xbd
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,266
    I actually believe Sony's 3D sets will 'upconvert' as well, even though it was not announced in a formal capacity. I'd be interested to see what chip they were using for the process as well, since it in all likelihood is not Cell.
     
  6. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,611
  7. Carl B

    Carl B Friends call me xbd
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,266
    I don't think it had anything to do with CES at all - I just think they failed to highlight it. In fact some of the new 3D capable Bravias are in SonyStyle stores right *now* for consumers to demo, and this is where I got my info. I plan on checking it out this weekend myself when I'm at the mall.

    BUT - this topic is about Cell and Toshiba, so... :)
     
  8. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,611
    Well... we need more context to interpret their achievements and positioning. So, I'll be interested to see what you find in the mall.
     
  9. green.pixel

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,306
    Location:
    Europe
    I suppose that almost all of the manufactures will use some kind of 2D->3D conversion due to the lack of 3D content in the beginning?


    Btw, do all of them use Real3D system for 3D?
    http://ces.cnet.com/8301-31045_1-10428437-269.html
     
  10. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,611
    I believe the available vendors/techs are: RealD, Dolby 3D, IMAX 3D and XpanD. Might want to ask in the 3D gaming/tech thread.
     
  11. corduroygt

    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,390
  12. Crossbar

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,821
    I really wonder what this 3d effect looks like.

    I wonder how well it handles static objects.
     
  13. AlphaWolf

    AlphaWolf Specious Misanthrope
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8,170
    Location:
    Treading Water
    Ya I really just don't get how this can be any good with no real depth information. I expect it will be some serious nausea inducing crap. My bar is set pretty low, so maybe I will be pleasantly surprised.
     
  14. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    35,024
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Have we still got no comparison of their HD upscaling tech?!
     
  15. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,611
    http://www.engadget.com/2011/03/04/toshiba-shows-off-dual-core-powered-z2-hdtvs-regza-app-for-andr/

    Google translated article:
    http://translate.google.com/transla...rss&hl=en&langpair=auto|en&tbb=1&ie=Shift_JIS
     
  16. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    35,024
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Has there ever yet been a review of their super resolution+ upscaling? Googling throws up Jan 2010 expectations but zero reviews! Since SPURSEngine's release and these TV's announcement, the contribution of Cell to the TV space has been nothing anyone has talked about. Now interest has shifted to 3D upscaling it seems, but the performance of SPURSEngine in this space hasn't been proven, and Toshiba went with a proprietary part, the Meta Brain it seems, to do this job in lower cost TVs.
     
  17. Weaste

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Castellon de la Plana
    So this CEVO thing. It's basically two Cell BEs one sat on top of the other, so giving 2 PPUs and 16 SPUs? Basically an IBM Cell blade on a chip? How do these two processors communicate with each other, as is there any Flex I/O on the level of the CBE/RSX to connect it to a GPU, or it that bus now internal to this chip?

    Does anyone have any more details about this dual core Cell?
     
  18. Xenus

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,316
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nah it's more then likely two SPURs which would make it 2 PPUs and 8 SPUs
     
  19. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    35,024
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Why do that rather than a 1:8 Cell? I can't see the second PPE being much use.
     

Share This Page

Loading...