Toshiba Cell Based Console?

It’s no secret that Toshiba invested heavily (rumored $65-$100 million) in the Cell processor development.

1) How would Toshiba recoup its investment and manufacturing cost of the Cell processor? It would seem (IMO) just using the Cell alone in PDA’s, TVs, workstations, and other electronics will not cover all the investment & manufacture cost, even in the long-term investment since. Especially when there are better processors all ready creeping up.
2) What would keep Toshiba from entering in the game console market with a Cell based game console?
3) Is there agreement between Toshiba & Sony on that issue?
4) If so couldn’t they get around that issue by calling it a gaming PC even if all the components are closed-end.

It’s not like Toshiba is a total noob when it comes the gaming/console industry. Imagine the upset they could pull off if they were able to release a gaming machine based on the Cell processor by late 2008 with the right amount of 1st and 3rd party developers. I have three possible models in mind that would be fairly priced ($400-$500). Remember these are 2008 specs based around today’s technology or next year’s technology and or the year after that.

Model One:
CPU: Cell processors
GPU: Latest ATI (600 series) or NVIDIA (G80 series) based GPU
Drive: HD-DVD
Ram: 768MB (possibly XDR 2)

Model Two:
CPU: 2 Cell processors
GPU: 2 GPU (ATI 600 series or NVIDIA G80 series)
Drive: DVD-9
Ram: 512MB (possibly GDDR 4)

Model Three:
CPU: 2nd generation Cell processor
GPU: ATI 700 series or NVIDIA G90 series
Drive: DVD-9
Ram: 512MB (GDDR 4)

Thoughts? Answers?

Last edited by a moderator:
No software, no console. IIRC Intel once considered entering the console business.

I know I should go and search for links from the iSuppli teardown but IIRC Toshiba has almost as much silicon in PS3 as Sony has, it wins and they win - fortunately, cos in my humble, HD-DVD is gonna die a horrible death.