"The Official DOOM 3 [H]ardware Guide" at [H]

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by PowerK, Jul 29, 2004.

  1. thop

    thop Great Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent ...
     
  2. Ante P

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    This leaves me most confused:

    http://www2.hardocp.com/image.html?image=MTA5MDc4NzE0M1RPNjJBTU9FV1hfN182X2wuZ2lm

    vs.

    http://www2.hardocp.com/image.html?image=MTA5MDc4NzE0M1RPNjJBTU9FV1hfMTdfNV9sLmdpZg==

    Too bad there's no similar comparison between 6800U since that's the card I'm using. (6800U + FX53 is using 4xAA which makes the comparison useless.)

    I'm actually thinking about upgrading from a 3200+ to a 3800+ (3800+ very similar to FX53 which is why I chose it for comparison here) just for Doom 3 but since I saw that benchmark I'm not so sure anymore. :?
     
  3. reznor02

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    storrs, CT
    i got the same exact system and the same exact hopes. . . .HQ creatures look SOOO GOOOD compared to medium quality ones. .. . . FYI, if it turns out that HQ sux for us, i'm going to ebay my 9800pro(for around $100-115), and buy a 9800xt (for about 280-100 = 180) seems worth it to me!
     
  4. silence

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    ...around....
    looks like i really need to upgrade my card....this 9500pro is outdated now :?
    i dont plan to play on 800x600 on medium goddamnit :wink: (that hurts)
     
  5. thop

    thop Great Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow 6800GT plays 1600x1200 HQ smoothly! Unfortunately my 9600XT is not doing too pretty, 800x600 is just not enough for me :?

    I've got a question though about the 60FPS cap. Was the FPS data gathered by FRAPS also capped at 60FPS? It kinda distorts the results a bit IMHO, because you don't get the real average of what the card is capable. It's like benching with V-Sync on. Or maybe it's better this way? :?
     
  6. SithSolo1

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    w00t! 640x480 Low Detail here I come baby! :shock: :D
     
  7. alanity

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder if more games will come out that have such low lighting that you can't tell the difference between quality settings, meaning you can say it looks "good" on anything. :wink:
    I can see it now, walking through levels with absolutely no lighting, that we're assured contain the highest poly models and most incredible textures ever seen (or not seen as the case may be).
     
  8. trinibwoy

    trinibwoy Meh
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,578
    Likes Received:
    622
    Location:
    New York
    Whoa!!....a 9800PRO->9800XT? That barely qualifies as an upgrade. Not worth $180 IMHO. Why not just go for a 6800NU? or $250 for a GT or PRO?
     
  9. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    How on earth is this game going to fit in 64MB of TOTAL memory in XBOX to run. :lol:
     
  10. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,634
    Likes Received:
    2,100
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    /. just posted it, I hope everyone got a chance to read it already! ;)
     
  11. ZoinKs!

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Waiting for Oblivion
    FRAPS records whatever framerate is being produced. Since Doom 3 doesn't go above 60 fps fraps won't record anything anything above that, either.

    Yeah, that's kind of strange. It suggests d3 is vidcard limited with the x800 xt pe.
    I'm just glad I'll be able to play at 10x7 high detail. I was expecting mainly medium with a few options on high. 8)
     
  12. John Reynolds

    John Reynolds Ecce homo
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Westeros
    Damn, busy day at work and I didn't get a look at it yet.

    Concerning AA in Doom 3, there is no right or wrong answer. As always, it's a subjective decision.
     
  13. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,634
    Likes Received:
    2,100
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    I know, that's why I'm not arguing nor disagreeing with him.

    I can't possibly have an opinion on the matter until I see it, I just tend to be more sensitive to it than most I think.
     
  14. anaqer

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's easy - it's NOT going to fit. :lol: D3 on XBOX is not "this game" per se.
     
  15. reznor02

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    storrs, CT
    GF2mx-->radeon 8500 --> FX5600U -->radeon 9800pro128. . . .lol, looks like i should be getting an nvidia now, just to keep the pattern. . .i havent been researching nvidias intensively recently . .. . .whats the best sub $300 card right now?
     
  16. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    6800 nu, damn good card for 299 bucks competes with the 9800xt
     
  17. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,634
    Likes Received:
    2,100
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    How much is a 6800 GT again? And that 6800 nu didn't look bad neither.... :shock:
     
  18. Silence429

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well considering the plain old 6800 performs as well as a X800XT PE then i'd say that wouldnt be a bad choice :)
     
  19. logen999

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queens, New York
    yes, this is true. I for one am not very sensitive to aliasing, so i except to run it on a decently low res. perhaps 1024 by 768.

    some of these people at rage ar complaining that they wont be able to run 1200 by 1600 with 4xAA with their 800pro's :roll:
     
  20. Hellbinder

    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    12
    ATi had better get a grip on their drivers.. or get HL2 out and have a huge lead.

    The general atmosphere accross various forums is that people are dumping their ATi cards in favor of 6800's.

    To bad ATi did not take this game and the impact it was going to have more seriously, a lot sooner. like last year when they were working on the R420.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...