The Neverending Upscale Discussion Thread * Summary=#457

Discussion in 'Consoles' started by mrcorbo, Aug 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nAo

    nAo Nutella Nutellae
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    San Francisco
    You forgot HS! 4x AA ftw! :)
     
  2. "Nerve-Damage"

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    14
    :cool:
     
  3. MonkeyLicker

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    I heard from a friend of a friend that HS doesn't have AA.
    Take it as you will, but the friend in question knows a guy who knew Ken Kutiragis' niece.
    She heard this info from a girl who wallpapered Ninja Theorys' bathrooms.
     
  4. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    the best PS3 IQ = Full auto 2 demo in true Full HD 1920x1080 with MSAA x4 and aniso but.... 20fps
     
    #184 Quaz51, Aug 19, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 19, 2007
  5. Todd33

    Veteran Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    CA
    Well the demo is much better than 20fps and the reviews say it chugs less than the 360, so I assume you are exaggerating. I also doubt it has any AA at 1080P.
     
  6. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    i confirm, Full auto 2 demo is true 1920x1080, msaa 4x, aniso, i am sure , very sure for this part (and yes it's surprising, for me too)
    for framerate it's more difficult , the framerate is different for every video mode, for SD it's 1VBL (60fps), for 720p it's 1VBL 50% of the time and 2VBL (30fps) for other 50% and for 1080p it's diffcult to say, it's low, i think max 2VBL (30fps) and sometimes (or more) 3VBL (20fps) but it's more difficult to certify
    i tested the demo not the game but for IQ it's the best PS3 example
     
    #186 Quaz51, Aug 19, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 19, 2007
  7. Mmmkay

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    31
    It really does, just downloaded and checked myself. 4xMSAA for both 1080p and 720p modes and native frame rendering. The difference in framerate between the two resolutions is quite comical though. Don't know how well that holds true for the retail version.
     
  8. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    in the same way VT3 PS3 have msaa 2x in true 1920x1080 (60fps of course)
     
    #188 Quaz51, Aug 19, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 19, 2007
  9. warb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    It's the same on Xbox360.
     
  10. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    i will check myself soon ;)
     
  11. warb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
  12. MBDF

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Vancouver, Canada
    I think Resistance uses 4xAA.

    Btw, how dose Motorstorm achieve AA and HDR at the same time... is it NAO 32?
     
  13. nAo

    nAo Nutella Nutellae
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    San Francisco
    it's 2xAA
    I have no idea, but keep in mind that there are so many ways to skin a cat..
     
  14. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,733
    Likes Received:
    11,206
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Remember the topic people! This isn't a comparison of titles across platforms thread. Keep to the topic off what games are upscaling and whether listed resolutions native or not. Especially as this is the technology forum!
     
  15. NVNDA

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    3
    Full Auto 2 HD

    The Full Auto 2 demo definitely does not look upscaled and feels like 25-35 fps @ 1080p.
     
  16. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,726
    Likes Received:
    5,818
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    I wonder if that shot isn't super old too because newer shots have a fourth type of grenade in the hud (upper left group of icons).

    edit: it's not just that he hasn't picked up that particular grenade in that shot with the hunters. The fourth grenade type is still shown with a zero count as in below

    http://www.wired.com/images/article/magazine/1509/H3_MP_LastResort_FP1.jpg
     
  17. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    I analyzed (with last samsung full HDTV with 1:1 mapping and good digital camera) all the PS3 demo with 1080p output
    my result:


    Blast Factor Demo > 1920x1080

    Full Auto 2 Demo > 1920x1080 (MSAA x4)

    GT-HD > 1440x1080 With 1920x1080 cars Selection
    720p with MSAA x2 and SD with MSAA x4

    NBA07 Demo > 1920x1080

    Ninja Gaiden Sigma Demo > 1280x720

    Ridge Racer 7 Demo > 1920x1080

    Rub'a'dub Demo > 1600x1080

    Stardust HD > 1280x1080 (fusion of 1280x720 with 1920x1080 :D )

    The Darkness Demo > 1024x576

    Virtua Tennis 3 Demo > 1920x1080 (MSAA 2x)


    and i think Tekken5 and Calling all cars are 1920x1080 (but not tested) + the others which are not in demo...
     
    #197 Quaz51, Aug 21, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2007
  18. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    i tested PGR3 with my "Elite" and it's 1066x600 with MSAA 2x
     
  19. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    sorry, i spoke too quickly, i thought that it was 16/9 but no, PGR3 is 1024x600 MSAA 2x
    Tomb raider X360 is 1024x600 too (MSAA 2x)

    RR6 is ~ 1440x810 no AA (probably for better using the 10MB framebuffer without use tiling)

    Perfect Dark is ~ 1140x640 no AA

    it is all the strange resolution which I tested in demo (i not tested all demo), the others are 1280x720
     
    #199 Quaz51, Aug 28, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 26, 2007
  20. almighty

    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    5
    Can someone do a resolution test on Gears? Ive always wondered if Gears was native 720p or scaled.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...