The mid-term future: Sony-Toshiba-IBM....and Nvidia...or... STIN ?

simple question really. with the development of PlayStation4 which has to already be well underway (PS3 was in development in 1999, 6 months to a year before PS2 launched), what will be the role of Nvidia this time?

Will Sony-IBM-Toshiba just work on a next-generation implementation of the CELL architecture and Nvidia will develop all its GPUs independantly, and on the PSP2, PS4 end, with co-operation with Sony, or will Nvidia be brought into the CELL alliance and will
Sony-IBM-Toshiba-Nvidia build a new class of processor that is both a CPU and GPU ?

somewhat like the route Intel says it is taking with their 'Platform 2015' outline.

If an entire GPU could be combined with a CPU, the transmition times between them could be cut. the entire CPU><GPU external bus could be cut.

The GPU portion might be able to benefit from the far higher clockspeeds of CPUs. but obviously things would have to change.

I'm no engineer. but somehow, I sense that with PS4, Kutaragi and Jen-Hsun will be closer than ever. will this manifest itself on the silicon level as well ?

Last edited by a moderator:
I have doubts there are firm plans to even use an nVidia chip in PS3. Preliminary work on a PS4 GPU won't begin for at least 2 years - the platform probably won't be out until 2012 at the earliest. I'm fairly confident in stating Sony won't attempt an in-house GPU again (like Jen-Hsun Huang recently stated "The PSP is really one the last 3D devices that will be built inhouse by anybody on the planet"), but they will still evaluate their relationship with nVidia at a further point in time.