Stupid windows question.

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by I.S.T., Aug 6, 2010.

  1. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    Would upgrading my CPU cause Vista to need reactivation?
     
  2. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    806
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    If that is the only thing you are changing, then most probably not. If you change motherboard and maybe a HDD, then yes.
     
  3. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,157
    Likes Received:
    5,093
    No, usually it's a combination of upgrades done simultaneously withing X amount of time that will trigger a reactivation.

    Reactivation is easy however, I've done it like 5 or 6 times down on 2 desktops and a tablet PC. Just call up the number that pops up on screen (toll free in the US), speak the numbers on the screen, then type the numbers the computer on the other end of the phone tells you and you're done. Takes me 5 mins or less whenever I do it usually.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  4. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,276
    Likes Received:
    1,788
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Nope, been there done that. :)
     
  5. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    Thanks for the info, guys.
     
  6. Colourless

    Colourless Monochrome wench
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Somewhere in outback South Australia
    I've changed a graphics card once and got a reactivation, then changed it back and didn't.

    As far as I can tell It seems to use some sort of score. If the system changes too much since when it was activated, it'll decide it needs reactivating. Changing a motherboard though is almost guarenteed to cause a reactivation as lots of hardware changes, including your MAC address which is likely to score pretty high in the checking for differences.
     
  7. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    497
    Internet activation is normally quickest & easiest, just click & wait about 30 secs.
    You get something like 5 activations per 6mths or so.
    If you're out of activations then you need to call.

    I had to call for my Win 7 because I'd installed then bought a SSD then SSD died & I reinstalled on spare drive then replacement SSD arrived then I got new CPU & mobo.
    I wasn't really relishing trying to pretend to not know that is in breach of the (probably illegal under local consumer protection laws) license & I should get more activations (I'd previously had to explain about several hardware changes & an RMAed mobo back in XP days) but the lady on the other end was completely uninterested in doing anything other than reading out the numbers for me.
    That's fairly understandable though since I imagine after about 5 of them you would stop caring other than where people have been using pirated keys or decent sized corporates using more installs than they paid for.
     
  8. fbuffer

    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just remember there is no such thing as a stupid windows question.. only a stupid windows user ;-) <not directed at anyone just saw an opening>
     
  9. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Actually stupid and windows are redundant. I have a W7-64 rig but it's for gaming. In all other respects I find W7 like polishing a turd. It's better than XP but that's not saying much. Better security, blah, blah, blah. It still takes a screaming machine and makes it chug. Put a linux partition with all the bells and whistles of Aero and the like on it and you'll see just what a pig W7 really is. Hell OS X even boots and responds faster on the same hardware if you hackintosh it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...