Stupid question on PS4Pro

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Infinisearch, Apr 13, 2018.

  1. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,602
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    There are a bunch of pc ports where folks complain about slo-mo when they set the graphics to max on their toaster. :p

    Or... varying damage based on frame rate (dark souls, iirc).
     
    Shifty Geezer likes this.
  2. milk

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    2,433
    As far as I know, those apis are offered in the standard library, but if a dev is crazy enough to forego them and write assembly code to the metal itseld as if it were 1985, that would still be an option. I guess the absolute majority of devs simply use the libs as is. But when you want full 100% compatibility, all you need is one game to have decided to fiddle with it a bit and interact more directly with the hardware and things could break. Boost mode is an option, and it works with most games so your assumptions are right, bit there is room for failure, so sony's compatibility mesures are just a safeguard against theoretocally possible exceptions to the rule.
     
  3. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    10,862
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Is there something of a list? Are the games specific to a geographical region? The two mentioned so far have that in common.
     
  4. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,171
    Location:
    La-la land
    Now-ancient FPS game Painkiller went into slo-mo when there was a lot of monsters on-screen, on the PC I first played it on (a P4-1.7GHz, with either a Geforce 3 or a Radeon 9700 Pro or whatsitscalled). It wasn't a jerky choppy slo-mo either; framerate was still smooth; it was just syrupy slow.

    Not sure where exactly the bottleneck was to accomplish that feat, tbh. :D
     
  5. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,780
    Likes Received:
    4,431
    I agree it's crap, but it happens in a bunch of Gen8 titles, and the PS4 Pro is a Gen8.5 console that behaves a Gen8 when in compatibility mode.

    So going back to the OP's question, I think that's the answer: many Gen8 games made for the PS4 still synch the frametimes with a bunch of other stuff. And that's why Sony couldn't just make the old games run on significantly more resources when the Pro launched.
    Even the rather conservative "boost mode" that doesn't open up the rest of the GPU to the old games - only increases the CPU/GPU clocks - gets weird results on some games.
     
    milk likes this.
  6. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,602
    Likes Received:
    5,710
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Don't know. I was just remembering from first hand experience with Injustice/Mortal Kombat 9. Online play for Killer Instinct requires that the PC surpass the internal benchmark. The commonality seems to be games that tie the gameplay animations to combat at least. I think the Ninja Gaiden/DOA games do the same.

    You used to be able to do mess around with that in idtech4/Doom 3 if you set com_fixedTic to 1 (or maybe -1). Been a while. :p
     
    #26 AlBran, Apr 16, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...