SteamVR Performance Test

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by ToTTenTranz, Feb 22, 2016.

  1. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,996
    Likes Received:
    4,570
    There's a performance test for SteamVR.
    It's listed as a "tool" for Steam so it doesn't show in the front page or anything, so you can just follow these links:

    https://steamdb.info/app/323910/
    steam://install/323910


    It runs a windowed VR demo with a robot from Portal being repaired:

    [​IMG]


    The result I initially got, with a Core i7 4820K and two R9 290X:

    [​IMG]

    But I noticed in MSI Afterburner that only one GPU was being used, and I found that if we put "-multigpu" in the launch options, the test will use both GPUs. The result for that was:

    [​IMG]

    Which is the highest possible score :)
    It seems the multigpu option isn't turned on by default because they claim most games don't support it yet. Let's hope that by H2 2016 this will be different.
     
    tabs likes this.
  2. Kyyla

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    293
    Location:
    Finland
    Here is the result from my aged pc. CPU @ 4Ghz.

    Untitled.png
     
  3. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,985
    Likes Received:
    1,497
    Test seems to favor Nvidia , my r290 gets me a 5.8 with a i7 3820@ 3.6ghz
     
  4. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    GTX970
    i7-3770K
    6.7
     
  5. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,996
    Likes Received:
    4,570
    Could it be that your v-sync is forced on in the drivers? I had mine in both tests, and only remembered it after I took both screenshots and uninstalled the tool.
     
    eastmen likes this.
  6. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    If a 2500k and a 970 picked up a 6.7 score, I'm gonna come in here later tonight and make AMD owners angry when I unleash my 4.5GHz 3930k and the overclocked 980Ti G1 :D Seriously though, if I remember to, I'll post in here later to see how it ranks.
     
  7. trinibwoy

    trinibwoy Meh
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,430
    Likes Received:
    433
    Location:
    New York
    GTX 780 Ti, 4670k @ 4ghz

    6.3
     
  8. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Indiana
  9. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,985
    Likes Received:
    1,497
    thanks for the suggestion but according to the radeon settings its on off unless application specifies . It seems to be common that the r290 is in the mid to high 5 and the x model sometimes makes it into the low 6s.

    I'm sure I will be fine. I can play things with similar frame rates to my friends with a GeForce 970 and 980
     
  10. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    LoL, 980Ti is a flatline of 11... Somehow it was CPU bound for a single frame though. I even retried the test, and a single frame still showed up. Not sure what that's about...
     

    Attached Files:

    BRiT likes this.
  11. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    I ran the test in interactive mode and was impressed by the fine geometry and texture detail, though shading is nothing to write about. I can't notice any ambient occlusion being used.

    Here's an example of dynamic asset detail adjustment from the test, noticeable on slower systems, triggered by a frametime threshold:

     
  12. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,122
    Likes Received:
    2,050
    Nope. 270X is not enough.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
    Another 980Ti here. I don't get the single CPU bound frame (5820K @ 4.4Ghz) but I do only get a 10.5 score. My GPU is at reference clocks though.

    @albuquerque what are your gpu/mem speeds at? I'd like to OC temporarily to see if I can match your flat 11 result so I can see if it's that or perhaps some background process causing it. Also, you seem to have 13k frames compared to everyone elses 11k or less.

    [​IMG]
     
    #13 tabs, Feb 24, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 24, 2016
  14. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    I'm guessing the higher performance allows the system to render more frames in the allotted time? I'm guessing. Ran it this time and there were no CPU-bound frames, and also notice I squeezed a few more frames into the render time (13334 compared to 13245 last time...)

    Ran it with MSI Afterburner around so you can see the clockspeeds. Big picture attached! Overclock is pretty conservative, 1465MHz core and ~3.6GHz (7.2GHz effective) on the memory. I can give the memory quite a bit more, but it doesn't seem to help much and in very rare cases it ends up making the display driver reset.
     

    Attached Files:

    tabs likes this.
  15. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks. I matched your settings apart from power limit which I couldn't set to more than 110. Monitoring power it reached 99% once. Only got a 10.7 with a bit over 11k frames. Is the higher power limit something you tweaked in afterburner or a feature of your card?

    ...and cheers for the edit @BRiT :p
     
  16. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    If I'm not mistaken, the higher power limit is something unique to the firmware in the Gigabyte G1 card; I'm reasonably confident there are other high-end 980Ti OC cards with similar capabilities. Afterburner simply reads the cap from your firmware and provides the slider; if you cannot go above 110, then it's a firmware limitation.
     
  17. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
  18. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    No CPU bound frames here on a stock 2500K. My 670 is woefully inadequate though apparently. Scored at the bottom end of not ready.
     
  19. Rurouni

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    216
    Strange.... not the overall result but the fidelity graph. I've run it twice just to make sure, and the graph was the same on both runs. Nice stable graph though :)

    2016-02-25.png
     
  20. Lightman

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    Here is mine! Single R9 290X OC on Windows 10 64bit (CPU 4.4GHz)

    [​IMG]
     
    #20 Lightman, Feb 25, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2016
    BRiT likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...