Steam Proton - Steam Running Windows Games on Linux

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Otto Dafe, Aug 22, 2018.

  1. Otto Dafe

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    59
    Valve just announced that the Linux Steam client now supports running Windows games, albeit with a pretty small whitelist to start. Apparently Valve has been funding WINE and DXVK for some time.

    From the announcement:
    • Windows games with no Linux version currently available can now be installed and run directly from the Linux Steam client, complete with native Steamworks and OpenVR support.
    • DirectX 11 and 12 implementations are now based on Vulkan, resulting in improved game compatibility and reduced performance impact.
    • Fullscreen support has been improved: fullscreen games will be seamlessly stretched to the desired display without interfering with the native monitor resolution or requiring the use of a virtual desktop.
    • Improved game controller support: games will automatically recognize all controllers supported by Steam. Expect more out-of-the-box controller compatibility than even the original version of the game.
    • Performance for multi-threaded games has been greatly improved compared to vanilla Wine.
    Interesting times!
     
    #1 Otto Dafe, Aug 22, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2018
    DSoup, Lightman, milk and 1 other person like this.
  2. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    11,054
    Likes Received:
    6,733
    Location:
    Cleveland
    But have they made any improvements on their Steam Client? That thing is ancient and sometimes is absolutely horrible to use.
     
    Silent_Buddha likes this.
  3. Otto Dafe

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    59
    You mean specifically the Linux client? I've never used it before. Indeed I don't think I've ever tried to run a game under Linux.
     
  4. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Indiana
    Just tried ELEX in arch linux, stutters when you first enter a new area, but once you have been over it, it becomes smooth.
    Also, locations visited already, even after a reboot, are stutter free.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  5. Otto Dafe

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    59
    Sounds like maybe it's building a shader cache on the first time through.
     
  6. snarfbot

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    118
    interesting, gonna have to check this out thanks!
     
  7. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    15,409
    Likes Received:
    4,324
    I still can't believe that the base client still doesn't properly support touch. You can't "grab" a page and scroll it, for example, you have to scroll via the scroll bar still.

    Regards,
    SB
     
    BRiT likes this.
  8. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,058
    Likes Received:
    838
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    I like the Steam client. Gets the job done and hasn't really changed much since HL2 came out so I can practically use if blindfolded. From what I've seen things tend to go to shit when impractical and useless features like touch get integrated.

    Have they ever fixed font scaling? I recall it being rather difficult to use on high DPI monitors last time I checked.
     
  9. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,459
    Likes Received:
    1,938
    If you want to try with no risk get kanotix live dvd (or put in on a usb stick)
    it doesnt alter you windows install, comes with nvidia and amd drivers installed plus wine and steam
    if you want to run a windows game just find the game folder and double click on the exe and it runs (i just played cod modern warfare 2)
    there are other live dvd's but ive only tried kanotix and knoppix.
     
  10. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Indiana
    just an update on my experience with ELEX. I downloaded and compiled the steamos-compositor, its the steamos desktop, logged into it, and now the game run with no stutter in new areas.
     
  11. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,309
    Likes Received:
    3,965
    Isn't this some 3-5 years too late?
    Steam Machines failed, no one uses SteamOS and Windows 10 has a very successful adoption rate and Marketplace proved to be everything but a threat to Steam.

    Don't get me wrong, I think this is somewhat cool even (though I'm definitely still not going to install Linux in a machine to play games).
    I just wish Valve would either make games or release their IPs for someone else to make them.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  12. zed

    zed
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,317
    Likes Received:
    556
    Will that be true in a couple of years time, one can never know, thus its wise to have a backup plan.
    Its like someone on these forums years ago said about android, why is google bothering with that, its going noone and will not amount to anything etc
     
    Rikimaru likes this.
  13. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,397
    Likes Received:
    5,158
    Location:
    London, UK
    Until Microsoft put a controller-friendly UI on the front of Windows for those of us who like the console UI experience but want more powerful hardware, projects like this are good. I've not used SteamOS but if this propels it towards one day being a viable alternative to Windows 10, I'm all for it!

    I'd settle for Microsoft having Windows 10 updates that don't break my Xbox Controller connection and removing/reinsert the USB adaptor and repairing.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  14. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    15,409
    Likes Received:
    4,324
    Well, you don't need SteamOS for a console like experience. You can just put Steam's windows client (Mac client should have it also) into Big Picture Mode.

    You lose booting directly into the Steam interface, but you gain access to significantly more games on the Windows side.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  15. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,397
    Likes Received:
    5,158
    Location:
    London, UK
    This works until there is any form of graphics driver, Steam client update or Windows update. Which is all the time. When you use use your computer for multiple things you don't notice these. When the only time you need to reach for a mouse/keyboard is for updating something, you realise this is way too often.

    If anything these are not actioned, lots of things cease to auto-update then require mega downloads when you do update. Six-monthly Windows 10 updates for me break the Xbox Controller. Every. Damn. Time.
     
    Kyyla and BRiT like this.
  16. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    6,469
    Likes Received:
    349
    Still hope they'll support on the fly Windows VM with PCI-Express pass through at some point, at least for some limited Steam Box platforms.

    Sure, you can cobble it together yourself, but it's quite an effort.
     
  17. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,338
    Likes Received:
    574
    Location:
    Japan
    What's the point? If you're okay with running Windows why not run Steam under windows to begin with?

    The idea behind a steam box is valve isn't dependant on windows.

    I don't think GPU passthrough is something that can be maintained in something like steam os in a matter that is reliable and usuable for most user.
     
    Rikimaru likes this.
  18. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Indiana
    No Man's sky works, must have mesa 18.2 or later for opengl 4.5 on AMD cards
    Fallout 3 work, must copy live.dll to the game directory
    Skyrim SE Work, but no npc voices.

    Edit: Skyrim original, all sound works, both will lockup your desktop when exiting the game.
     
    #18 Sinistar, Sep 18, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
  19. Malo

    Malo YakTribe.games
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,558
    Likes Received:
    2,591
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    It's ridiculous that this was ever and still is an issue. Multiple wired 360 controllers have worked perfectly for years. XOne controller? My son has to disconnect/reconnect the wire a few times a week. Over bluetooth? lol yeah that was reliable...
     
  20. Pete

    Pete Moderate Nuisance
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,843
    Likes Received:
    223
    Have you tried Controller Companion? It's not a console GUI, but it lets you control the mouse with your controller. It can also act as a keyboard, but I haven't tried that.

    I don't think I've had this problem with my bluetoothed XBox One controller, but a review does mention it "malfunction[ing] after most Windows updates." You could try it before/after you install Windows' latest huge update and probably still be within the Steam 2hrs in 2 weeks return window.
     
    DSoup and BRiT like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...