SP Games - Time to rethink difficulty levels?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Albuquerque, Aug 10, 2007.

1. Albuquerque

Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

Ok, so Bitwise XOR got me thinking with this quote from the FarCry 2 thread:
    Specifically, I think the current model of "difficulty" is a little too abstract. For essentially all games, if you turn the difficulty down it does a general "dumbing down" of the entire experience: AI that is less intelligent, more plentiful ammunition and health, and damage to your character is reduced.

I'm not a game coder, but I do a considerable amount of programming for my job -- these items can't be 100% hard-linked. I'm sure they all reference the same slider, but what if there were THREE sliders instead of one?

Slider One: AI Intelligence. Are you fighting a bunch of dimwits, or are you fighting an entire legion of SEALs?

Slider Two: Resources. Are you swimming in ammunition, guns and health galore? Or are you in the real world where that stuff just doesn't go laying around?

Slider Three: Are you basically the terminator and can take a rocket to the face, fall 50 feet and get pelted by four clips of 9x19mm ammo and still be able to run a quarter mile? Or are you human; being shot once is likely enough to slow you down really well, taking a rocket to the face is grounds for dismemberment of the most grotesque variety, et al?

I'd love to see these kinds of options in a game. I don't like the fact that I can take 72 rounds to the chest, back, legs and head and still live -- but when I turn up the generalized difficulty slider, suddenly the AI is to the point where they can see you from a half-mile away and can hit you dead-even while running. Why can't I have something else?

2. Davros

Legend

/me agrees with albuquerque

3. Scott_Arm

Legend

Sounds great to me.

4. Dresden

Dresden Celebrating Mediocrity
    Veteran