So is the cell spe's "downgrade" confirmed ?

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by supervegeta, Apr 8, 2006.

  1. supervegeta

    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    From the GDC there was a slide that said only 6 spe are availbe for the developers, and
    this is a very bad news to me expecially considering the xbox360 reserve only 5% of one core for all the Os functions.

    It would be different if at least that one spe is reserved for some game functions like sound , do anyone have more
    detailed information about this ?
     
    #1 supervegeta, Apr 8, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2006
  2. speng

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    5
    Search around this has always been the case:

    1 SPE for OS
    6 for developers
    1 for redundancy

    Speng.
     
  3. supervegeta

    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    well seeing by this comment it seems that even the devs doesn't know what is the final deal :

     
    #3 supervegeta, Apr 8, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2006
  4. Bad_Boy

    Bad_Boy god of war.
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,355
    Likes Received:
    25
    http://www.1up.com/do/newsStory?cId=3148951&did=1
    ^taken march 22nd

    barbarian's quote is from march 30th i beleive. Maybe its possible that barbarian's company did not receive the "roll-out" yet. It could be several different things. It also seems from that 1up description, 1 SPE might be doing alot of needed background work while you are playing a game to make things run smoothly. I would hate for me to be playing a game, and all of a sudden a video chat window pops up and the framerates drop horribly.
     
  5. rabidrabbit

    rabidrabbit A Reformed Member
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Finland
    I wonder if the one SPU that is reserved for the OS will also handle many game interface functions.
    At least the game save/load handling and many online related functions are likely to be handled by that one "OS SPU". Like in the PSP, many games "fall back" to the underlying PSP OS in game save and load screens (Tales Of Eternia comes to mind as one which has the load/save screen the same as the PSP OS).
    Other functions that are sort of "Inbuilt" to the OS might be the EyeToy2 processing, voice recognition, some functions related to Blu-ray, DRM...

    What I mean, that doesn't games already have tons of functions that require the OS to be present, or functions that can be handled by the underlying hardwares' OS instead of running some game specific OS'es to handle things like online interfaces etc... with skins the interfaces can however be made to look integrated in the game universes.
    I think something like this had already been confirmed by Phil Harrison in some of the GDC presentations, where he demonstrated the marketplace interface inside the game Motorstorm. So it's like the xbox360 generic "Blade" interface that is run by the OS, but can be customized per game.
     
  6. Frank

    Frank Certified not a majority
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Sittard, the Netherlands
    We've discussed this quite a bit here already. It's almost certain, that the PPU will do the basic housekeeping, like switching processes, managing page tables (virtual memory) and interrupts. That's very little work, and will at most use a few kilobytes of memory.

    All other OS-related tasks are almost certainly done by that SPE, like copying stuff around, drawing the user interface, handling disk access and other IO. That's the large bulk of the work.
     
  7. mckmas8808

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,744
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yeah playing Blu-ray movies while playing a PS3 game must take alot of resources.
     
  8. dubyateeeff

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Just out of curiosity, why is this bad news for you?

    A lot indeed, like two BR-disc players* :)

    One SPU for just OS functions seems like a waste to me.

    *emulation and downloaded games a part, which are cases that I dont think will use the whole PPE and all 6 SPUs to warrant the reservation of the 7th SPU anyway
     
  9. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    1 SPE for downscale in realtime a PS3 game in 480x272, compress in AVC and send to PSP screen via WiFi and play every PS3 game with PSP :D (with FSAAx14-28)
     
  10. MBDF

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Vancouver, Canada
    1 SPE so you can be downloading things and playing a game or watching a movie while you wait.
     
  11. Guden Oden

    Guden Oden Senior Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,201
    Likes Received:
    91
    I seriously doubt that will be possible. Or even desireable as a feature I might add.
     
  12. Bad_Boy

    Bad_Boy god of war.
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,355
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yeah that puts up a good point, multitasking is something id like to see done well on the ps3. Downloading something but watching a movie while you wait. web browsing while listening to music. playing a game while voice chatting. video chatting while copying game saves, etc.

    of course a pc can do most if not, all of the above, but it would be nice to have all that potential on the big screen in the living room on a next gen console. :)

    /* prays for mouse + keyboard support out of the box */
     
  13. Titanio

    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes Received:
    51
    They've said you'll be able to, and I see no reason why not. Managed copy of the Blu-ray movie to HDD or a downloaded movie would let you do this. A SPU has enough power to decode a HD signal. As for why? Well, if you had a second screen attached to your PS3, it could let another person browse the movies on it, and watch them while you're playing a game or whatever.
     
  14. Hardknock

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    53
    What's the likely hood of someone having 2 TVs right next to each other like that?

    I guess it's nice to have, but doesn't seem very practical.
     
  15. Gholbine

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    1
    It does not have to be 2 televisions. The second screen can be any DVI-equipped computer monitor. You can usually pick one of those up for 100-150 dollars, and most everyone as at least one of them at home.
     
  16. Titanio

    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes Received:
    51
    Well, the limit is cable length..which wouldn't necessarily require them being right beside one another ;)

    Lots of people keep computers and TVs close enough to one another (well, I know lots of people I know keep both in their living room, or in adjoining rooms), such that connecting both displays to your PS3 might be possible.
     
  17. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,706
    Likes Received:
    11,159
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    I'm sure everyone awaiting 1080p sets is planning on getting two the moment they can... :D
     
  18. Npl

    Npl
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,905
    Likes Received:
    6
    Assuming they dont throw the old TV out of the window, well that makes 2 TVs the moment they buy 1 HDTV.
     
  19. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,706
    Likes Received:
    11,159
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Which means either PS3 gaming on the old SD set, or watching the HD movie on the SD set (which would you choose), and also having two TVs in the living room occupying that much more the space of the one TV, which makes a mockery of wanting a flat panel to save on the space of the CRT in the first place, plus having the distraction of the sounds and sights of the game alongside the sounds and sights of the film.

    I seriously doubt anyone is going to be in a postion to, and want to, have BRD movies playing on PS3 alongside PS3 games being played on the same console at the same time. I mean, who here is keen on the idea of having a computer game on one screen blaring away on the speakers and a movie right next to it on the 5.1 sound system?
     
  20. mckmas8808

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,744
    Likes Received:
    28
    If they make a long enough cable I would do it. 50 feet is all I need.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...