So, how would one go about getting into the industry?

Fox5

Veteran
Right now, I'm majoring in electrical and computer engineering, and I'm just starting my 2nd year. From what I hear, it doesn't really get all that into the theories behind everything, so would it really be the best track into the industry? Would I be better off going with say, a dual major in Physics and Computer Science? Obviously I intend to go to grade school (or so I hope), but I'm really not sure what the best way to get there would be.

Take all the core classes. For EE/ECE a good VHDL/Verilog class and processor design courses (CS and EE sides) are really needed background. Then, start applying for internships for the summer following your second year at ATI/AMD/IBM/Intel/Nvidia. If you really want to learn the deeper stuff, get involved in a professors's research projects. A good way to do this is to shine in a heavy project class they are teaching. This will help with needed experience for industry, as well as put you on a path for a good graduate program.

Last edited by a moderator:
Well, currently I'm also minoring in CS, Physics, and going for concentrations in Materials Science and Honors (my school actually offers an honors engineering lab class, and I assume I can pick up the rest in CS and Physics classes).

This is my school's curriculum
http://www.rowan.edu/colleges/engineering/departments/electricalcomputer/curriculum-2009.cfm

and these are the classes required (beyond the engineering degree) for a CS minor,
• 0704.112 Java for Object Oriented Programmers [0704.103; 1-credit bridge course]
• 1703.160 Discrete Structures [1701.122]
• 0704.222 Data Structures & Algorithms [0704.103 & 1703.150]
• 0704.114 Object Oriented Programming and Data Abstraction [0704.103 and 0704.112]