Should I accept a 5870 for a 4870X2?

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by Quitch, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. Quitch

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Two months ago I had a fault with my PowerColor 4870X2 card and sent it in for repairs. After a month I got a replacement... a 4890. I informed the reseller of their mistake (and my displeasure) and we've spent another month fannying around while they try to acquire another 4870X2 (even though one of their competitors has been stocking it the whole time).

    They say they're waiting on the manufacturer, but now they've offered me a 5870 as a replacement instead of a 4870X2.

    My initial reaction was to reject it out of hand, it's not as good my brain said. However, a quick Google showed some contradictory results, to me and to one another. Therefore I thought I'd consult the experts because I'm sure its been analysed to death on this site.

    The 5870 supports DX11, but this isn't a big thing for me because I don't doubt that by the time this really matters I could be buying a 6xxx to replace my 4870X2. What matters is which is giving the best performance now at 1920x1200. My 4870X2 was a card of 16xAF and 4xAA with every other setting in games like Far Cry 2 and Fallout 3 set to high. With that benchmark, what should I do?
     
  2. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    Yes, you should. Minimum framerate on the 5870 will be better than your x2, and chances are most games will show better average performance with the 5870 as well.

    And since it's a single GPU, it's guaranteed acceleration on all games, not just games that happen to play nicely with Crossfire.
     
  3. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,272
    Likes Received:
    1,785
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    YES!!!

    Take it and say, "thank you!"....they're doing you a big favor. :yep2:

    DISCLAIMER: This is coming from a guy who has a 4870x2 and a 5870.
     
  4. Quitch

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    I don't think I'd go that far. After two months I'm not feeling very well disposed towards them. I'm just glad there's light at the end of the tunnel.
     
  5. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,272
    Likes Received:
    1,785
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Ouch, I'm just going on my first month with an RMA hell on a motherboard so you have my full sympathies...I feel your pain.

    How about if I say, "You'll be much better off in the end this way"...that work better?
     
  6. Quitch

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Just so long as I fall back in love with Fallout 3 once I'm online. It's a real kicker to be so addicted to something and then BAM, GPU failure. I had to fall back to my laptop (thank God for a backup device) and work on the backlog. KOTOR down ;)

    Thanks, chaps!
     
  7. Humus

    Humus Crazy coder
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I would accept a 5870 to replace a 4870x2 for sure, but then I care about DX11.
     
  8. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Even if there was no DX11 it's a good swap.
     
  9. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    the 5870 will probably get better down the road with newer drivers. it also has new features (supersampling on older games)
     
  10. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    With all the added advantages a HD5870 has (powerconsumption, heat etc.) you'd actually be crazy not to.
     
  11. Quitch

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    And so I have and it's on its way. Hurrah!
     
  12. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    You'll have to drop in and let us know how you like it compared to your previous X2 card :)
     
  13. Quitch

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Have AMD changed how ATI ship drivers? The Catalyst 9.9 package wouldn't see the 5870, but downloading the recommended driver from support.amd.com and everything worked fine.

    Not sure I'll be able to give a fair comparison, the machine is being rebuilt using Windows 7 in a day or two, but I'll let you know :)
     
  14. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    9.9 was built prior to 5870 shipping. The "recomended driver" is a beta of Cat 9.10.
     
  15. Quitch

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Ah, no wonder. I was thinking the 5870 was older than that. Shows how out of touch I am.

    Thanks, Dave!

    And tell them to bring back the tree interface in the Catalyst Control Centre, the new method is just so clunky by comparison.
     
  16. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,151
    Likes Received:
    5,086
    Seconded. I sorely miss the tree everytime I start up Catalyst. I used to enjoy using the CCC, now I dread it.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  17. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    If you open an application and your first response is "where the F*** am I supposed to click now", you know something is wrong. Can I trade my CCC for a HD5870 please?
     
  18. Quitch

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    I fired up Fallout 3 last night and moved from 4x AA (adaptive) to 8x AA (adaptive) and it felt silky smooth. I don't recall why I moved down from 4 to 8 on the 4870X2 though and I didn't hit anywhere with a lot of smoke or fire, so who knows how long this will last.

    Anyway, it's Windows 7 rebuild time now so I'll see you on the other side.
     
  19. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,272
    Likes Received:
    1,785
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Best of luck Quitch, we'll be here when you get through.
     
  20. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    Everything is silky and smooth..!

    (but only because Microsoft gave me a couple of copies of Win7 and 2008R2)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...