Shift 2: Explanation of AA in the game.

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by ECH, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. ECH

    ECH
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Shift 2: Explanation of AA, etc and info about the patch.

    For those who are not aware the in game AA for Shift 2 PC still leaves jaggies. Here is what was said about the built in AA for the game:
    Posted here
    Does this make sense to anyone? This is a DX9 only game. When you use MLAA from AMD the IQ is improved. So I really don't understand this.
     
    #1 ECH, Apr 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 26, 2011
  2. Malo

    Malo YakTribe.games
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,329
    Likes Received:
    2,340
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Wouldn't that just mean that AMD's MLAA algorithm is better?
     
  3. Ike Turner

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    921
    NFS: SHIFT 2 on PC is horrible. Straight port of the Xbox 360 version. Textures are low-res (lower thant Shift 1). AA totally sucks (only the Car seems to be AA'd even on High the rest of the scenery is a jaggy mess). Their DOF implementation is a joke too. Replay cams are a joke too (jerky as hell). Poly-count on the cars is abysall compared to Criterion's NFS: Hot Pursuit.
     
  4. ECH

    ECH
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    3
    And what is DX9 full deferred HDR range anyway?
     
    #4 ECH, Apr 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2011
  5. AlBran

    AlBran ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19,488
    Likes Received:
    4,377
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    post-processing post-resolve? :p (zomg it's deferred to after MSAA resolve!!!!11111111111111111111111111111111111111)
     
  6. nightshade

    nightshade Interwebz Hijacker !
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Pretty interesting that he says they'd have gone with QAA if it wasn't for the deferred setup, when MLAA is easily providing better results than what QAA did in Shift 1.
     
  7. ECH

    ECH
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    3
    From my understanding QAA is cheaper then MLAA.


    It is claimed that they are creating a more efficient form of MLAA with Intels help. He claims that it should reduce the performance hit. Is that even possible?
    source
     
  8. ECH

    ECH
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    3
    nevermind
     
    #8 ECH, Apr 14, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 18, 2011
  9. AlBran

    AlBran ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19,488
    Likes Received:
    4,377
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    They certainly screwed it up on the Xbox 360 version. :p
     
  10. ECH

    ECH
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    3
    One user suggests that the game on the PC is using an hle emulator. The developer's reply is here
     
  11. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    Oh, god. Why would someone seriously suggest the damn game was running in an HLE emulator?
     
  12. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,352
    Likes Received:
    1,834
    I think he really means the code was written for the xbox and zero optimisation was done for the pc version, he just worded it badly.

    ps: amd's surface format optimisation doesnt work with this game
     
  13. ECH

    ECH
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Breakdown of how they threaded the game for the PC. I just don't understand why they used directx 9 though. Wouldn't DX10 or DX11 with the inclusion of multithreaded rendering been a benefit for what they were trying to do?
    post

    Some conversation regarding DLC coming to the PC
    post
     
  14. Kyyla

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    232
    Location:
    Finland
    How is this game compared to Shift 1? I rather liked that one.
     
  15. deeFive

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    it feels like a more polished Shift 1, its like the leap from GT1 to GT2 if that helps
     
  16. ECH

    ECH
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    3
    There are some bugs that need to be fix that hinders a good comparison (like dark cockpits for some). Currently, AMD users have to disable surface format optimization to reduce some of the dark cockpit view, etc (lets see if the patch addresses this). Also the handling has to be fixed. But from the looks of it so far some are saying that Shift 1 offered better graphics (although slightly better) then Shift 2. Here is what one person posted.

    Comparisons
    Post 1
    Shift 1
    Shift 2

    Shift 1
    Shift 2

    Post 2
     
    #16 ECH, Apr 22, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 22, 2011
  17. ECH

    ECH
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    3
    post



    AMD and Nvidia have the new builds for driver optimizations. None SLI users will see 5% increase in performance while AMD users will see nearly 10% increase in performance with the patch (I don't think it implies optimizations from the newer drivers).

    What I found interesting is that this game doesn't allow using Surface Format Optimizations (FP10/11) which is the result of dark cockpit view, etc. Yet the same thing is happening with nvidia users. Are they simply using FP16 or is there more to it? I recall this discussion before (from post 86 to post 89).
     
  18. AlBran

    AlBran ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19,488
    Likes Received:
    4,377
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    hm...

    http://www.gamesindustry.biz/articles/digitalfoundry-under-the-bonnect-shift-2-part-2?page=2 (gonna need a login for the rest)

     
  19. ECH

    ECH
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Does this make any sense to anyone?
     
  20. AlBran

    AlBran ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19,488
    Likes Received:
    4,377
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    I believe he means the two-geometry pass approach for LPP.

    First Pass: Normals + Depth buffers
    Second Pass: store light properties in a light buffer (sounds like they use an FP16 RT)
    Third Pass: Normals + depth again + fetch light buffer, apply different materials per surface.

    Sounds like they don't do MSAA'd lighting hence the reason there is still aliasing on PC.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...