SAMSUNG Introduces First 90-nanometer DRAM. (PS3)

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Vaan, May 24, 2005.

  1. London Geezer

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    23,604
    Likes Received:
    9,435
  2. hey69

    hey69 i have a monster
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,932
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Belcika
    well, can we expect something like this?

    the ps2's final clockfreq was higher then the 250mhz they claimed 6months before launch

    maybe ps3 will have a higher clock + i dunno bigger memory
    it all depents on the $$$
     
  3. London Geezer

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    23,604
    Likes Received:
    9,435
    It does, but 256MB of XDR *as a last-minute bonus* is a bit much.

    Personally, i'd rather have higher bandwidth than PS3 has now, rather than double the system memory.
     
  4. hey69

    hey69 i have a monster
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,932
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Belcika
    yeah thats asking for much

    maybe we can get a 4th ethernet port :lol:
     
  5. nAo

    nAo Nutella Nutellae
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,364
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    San Francisco
    it would be nice to have some more gb/s to share with RSX
     
  6. DuckThor Evil

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,942
    Likes Received:
    999
    Location:
    Finland
  7. Vaan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Zaragoza, Aragón, Spain, Europe, World...
    Well...

    Moving to 4,8GHz would deliver 38,4GB/s

    Moving to 512MB doubling the bus width would deliver 51,2GB/s

    Moving to 4,8GHz, 512MB and doubling the bus width would deliver 76,8GB/s



    The last option is my favorite :lol:
     
  8. Vaan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Zaragoza, Aragón, Spain, Europe, World...
    I don't get any idea, I just imagine it happening :mrgreen: ¿Wouldn't that be nice?
     
  9. DuckThor Evil

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,942
    Likes Received:
    999
    Location:
    Finland
    Ok, but is there anything out there that hints we might see something like that?. I thought that it was allready set in stone that PS3 will have 4x512mb chips.
    yes it would be nice. :)
     
  10. Vaan

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Zaragoza, Aragón, Spain, Europe, World...
    The only clue is that now samsung produces better memory, so sony could move and adopt this one to run faster than competitors.

    At least 4,8GHz is not unlikely, don't you think? It would give a 50% boost on Bandwidth.

    Also they could ship 2 more modules (6 instead of 4. Now they are smaller and cheaper) to make 384MB and 57,6GB/s increasing a 50% the number of bits of the bus. This is more than doubling the bandwidth, but you only need a 50% more memory chips, because they now are faster.
     
  11. Mordecaii

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    1
    I thought I remembered reading somewhere that CELL (as used in the PS3) could only use 4 memory chips at once? Or is that information false?
     
  12. Thowllly

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Norway
    You probably read that, but it's not true. It can use up to 36 memory chips
     
  13. mckmas8808

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,744
    Likes Received:
    28
    So if this is true, what does it change? Does it mean that the 256MB memory direct to the CPU will now be 512MB?
    ________
    Suzuki Equator
     
    #14 mckmas8808, May 24, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2011
  14. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,576
    Likes Received:
    16,033
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Nothing of the sort. Samsung have developed this technology for XDRAM. Doesn't mean it'll feature in PS3.

    Also PS3's CPU already has direct access to 512 MB RAM, split into 2 banks made up of XDR and DDR
     
  15. Fafalada

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Likes Received:
    49
    You'd actually expect 512XDR AND 256GDDR? :shock:
    Or you meant just higher clocked XDR?

    Anyway how about if they just made both pools XDR, the bandwith wouldn't be much higher(well perhaps they could clock one of the pools higher for that too) but surely it would be cheaper in the long run to have single Ram type in there...
     
  16. mckmas8808

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,744
    Likes Received:
    28
    Thats what I'm wondering. Is Sony going to get the above configuration. If so how would this affect gameplay and graphics?
    ________
    Honda vf700c
     
    #17 mckmas8808, May 24, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2011
  17. nAo

    nAo Nutella Nutellae
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,364
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    San Francisco
    higher clock, it should be cheaper than more (slower) modules
     
  18. Xenus

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    How much would it take to double the bus-width thus doubling the bandwith.
     
  19. ShootMyMonkey

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    72
    That either means higher RAM clocks or more controller channels (you have two 32-bit controllers to a CELL). Either way, it's a lot to ask.

    I was under the impression that XDR can go down to x1 (1-bit per cycle) DRAMs, which would make it 72. With two 32-bit controllers per CELL, that's 72 devices (64 data and 8 ECC). I believe at x8 and up, though, the ECC portion is on the DRAM devices, so you don't need extra devices for that.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...