Saints Row: The Third

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by digitalwanderer, Nov 17, 2011.

  1. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    18,450
    Likes Received:
    3,019
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Not sure if this is just a great game or if I've waited so long that it was bound to be great for me no matter what, but it's playing smooth and looking good and I'm insanely enjoying it!

    Anyone else give it a go yet?
     
  2. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17,304
    Likes Received:
    4,728
    I liked SR2 didnt finish it, cant remember why.
     
  3. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    18,450
    Likes Received:
    3,019
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    I think I played SR2 through about a dozen times. :oops:
     
  4. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
    Got so many games to play at the moment, I think I'll pick this up for cheap, unless you convince me otherwise with cool stories, screenshots and a proper review. ;)
     
  5. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17,304
    Likes Received:
    4,728
    Cant comment on 3 but 2 was sorta gta with more comedy
     
  6. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Likes Received:
    1,075
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    I heard SR2 ran like crap on most PCs. Is the third any better in this regard?
     
  7. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4,052
    Likes Received:
    639
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    SR2 ran pretty good on an E8400 @ 4Ghz and a 5850 :D It also plays just fine with my current Q9550 at 3.6Ghz and the same 5850.

    EDIT: Back on topic. I will probably enjoy SR3 as well, but it's next in line after Skryim. Which means I probably won't touch it (or any other game) for the next six months :D
     
  8. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
    IIRC it was only dual cores (or less) that really suffered with SR2.
     
  9. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Likes Received:
    1,075
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Yes, and I happen to have a rather old dual core CPU (3.2GHz Conroe). But most/all other console ports run extremely well on this rig (and they should considering how much faster this CPU is than Xenon).
     
  10. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    18,450
    Likes Received:
    3,019
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    This one runs a whole lot better than SR2 did, a much better coding job! :D
     
  11. Daozang

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    424
    Location:
    Athens
    SR2 runs like crap on my i7, 6gb, GTX580 ...
    But SR3 runs very well on the same pc.
    :???:
     
  12. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
  13. AcceleratorX

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Some strange place
    SR2--->Red Faction: Guerrilla--->Red Faction Armageddon--->SR3

    Play the Volition games (PC versions) in this order and you'll see the improvements in porting quality step by step ;)

    All 4 games are "basically" the same engine with/without GeoMod. SR2 and RF:G were ported by external studios (note that RF:G is a much better port job than SR2), and RF:A/SR3 are very good ports done by Volition themselves.

    As for SR2 - it ran fine on my PC too, at the time when I was rocking an Athlon X2 5600+ with an HD 3870. There were odd frame drops and occasional hitching, but the game ran smooth as butter on an HD 5770 with basically any quad core CPU (This game really needs a triple core or better).

    Not the same with RF:G - that game has issues too, but nowhere near as severe.

    BTW: SR2 has issues on Windows 7 regardless of your PC config. Some kind of engine bug causes the game to speedup whenever the CPU speed is anything other than 3.2GHz. How much your game speeds up depends on how far the CPU speed is from 3.2GHz. Oddly enough, this bug occurs in Windows 7 only - no patch to fix it.
     
  14. L. Scofield

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    323
    Just chiming in to say this game is AWESOME :twisted:
     
  15. Dresden

    Dresden Celebrating Mediocrity
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,016
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Blackwater Park
    Bump'd

    I'm thinking about getting this, but there hasn't been a lot of noise around here regarding it. Anyone feel like discussing it, briefly? Is it worth 50 bucks, or should I wait for a sale?
     
  16. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
  17. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    Saints Row 3 for PC is a good port.

    In the display/graphic option everything maxed runs good. (DX11)
    However, if you go to "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\saints row the third" directory, there is a display.ini file. This allows you to tweak further.

    For example, from in-game display/graphic option, maximum lighting detail you can set is "HIGH". But in the display.ini file, it says...
    You can set it to 3 for Ultra-high lighting detail. If you set this to 3 and go to in-game display/graphic option, it says "ULTRA". This halved my frame-rate though although it looked very good. Can anyone chime in and shed some light on this ? (eg. what exactly is the technical difference between high and ultra for lighting detail)

    And if you add the following line in the display.ini file,
    Code:
    SkipIntroVideo = true
    the game skips the intro vid and goes straight to main menu whenever you launch the game.
     
    #17 PowerK, Mar 4, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 4, 2012
  18. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17,304
    Likes Received:
    4,728
    sr3 also has great eyefinity support
     
  19. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    Ok. According to the display.ini file:
    "DDoF is incompatible with lighting details other than 3.
    # If DDoF is enabled, bokeh DoF will come on automatically on DX11 level cards"


    It seems it's the bokeh DoF that tanks the frame rate. It essentially halves the frame rate.
    Kepler can't come soon enough..
    Also, does anyone know if there's a way to get rid of pop-in ?
     
  20. Sigfried1977

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,010
    Likes Received:
    1,817
    Besides cutting the framerate in half, ultra high also disabled all the post-processing effects in my game (no depth of field, no motion blur, no nothing)
    Not worth it at all as far as I'm concerned.

    Awesome game, though. Picked up a Steam code for 16€ last December. Pop-in is pretty obnoxious though.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...