Running my own website(s)? *spawn*

harriffer

Newcomer
I hope this is the right place for this - basically I'm pretty new to web hosting, but I'm wondering about how suitable Windows 10 is for the purpose. I've heard before that Linux is a popular option, allegedly because it's more stable, secure, and is free, but I'm just wondering if it's really worth changing operating systems for it. I was reading up a bit on the differences here, but there's no specific mention of Windows 10. Does anyone have any experience with using it for web hosting, and would it be worth my while to give Linux a go?

Windows 10 is not a server platform. it makes no sense for Web hosting.

Use a Server OS variant for web hosting.

If he just wants to host his own personal website does he need a server o/s ?

If it's going to be on the internet (hosting his own website) then you want a hardened os.

W10 isn't that bad. I got w10 running 24/7 on a Intel NUC for my Emby media server and some VMs but it's mostly online. The only w10 related downtime I had was because after an update w10 ignored some custom startup settings.

For a personal website were uptime isn't critical w10 should be fine.

What do you do if you have a great site setup, but have no clue how to customize it? Is there a user-stupid interface that I could use from Win 10 to make changes to my phpBB install on Apache2 Ubuntu?

I got control of Elite Bastards server and with the help of some good friends it's all updated and running, but I'm clueless as how to customize/add a front page to it. Is this a good thread to inquire in?

W10 isn't that bad. I got w10 running 24/7 on a Intel NUC for my Emby media server and some VMs but it's mostly online. The only w10 related downtime I had was because after an update w10 ignored some custom startup settings.

For a personal website were uptime isn't critical w10 should be fine.