Running java safely

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Tahir2, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. Tahir2

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Earth
    I was wondering if there is a way to install a local portable version of Java on a portable browser and running it in a sandbox if that makes sense.

    I suppose could setup a VM and run it in there... but that seems a lot of effort for basically wanting to use a corporation's remote access. Problem is that I have no intention of installing Java on my system whilst it still has issues with its security model.
     
  2. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    A VM (which resets itself back to default state each time you start it) should be the only "safe" way to use java right now it would seem.
     
  3. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,847
    Likes Received:
    2,264
    If you run a browser in a sandbox and the browser uses java is java also sandboxed ?

    ps: how about a batch file ?

    rename c:\program files\java\java.bak java.exe
    remote access
    rename c:\program files\java\java.exe java.bak

    (you can see what im trying to do above)
     
  4. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    I went on this thread to say "just run Java in a VM!" as a joke.
    Java is a VM already. Is it that the malicious code escape that VM and attacks your OS? :)

    I saw something about Firefox blocking Java (for the security issue) but still allowing to use it, "just this time and on the site" if you ask it nicely.

    Else I would install something lightweight in a Virtualbox VM.
    The way I'd do it is getting Ubuntu 12.10's mini.iso, do a bare install (no desktop environment), apt-get install xorg-xserver lxde leafpad firefox whatever, and try to install java.
    Should run in 256MB ram and not take too much disk space.
     
    #4 Blazkowicz, Jan 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2013
  5. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,847
    Likes Received:
    2,264
    Do live cd's support java if so you could boot with one while accessing work
     
  6. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,743
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Unless you use live cd on a HDD-less computer, otherwise I think that is not very secure (in theory a malware could mount your HDD and write really bad things into it, if the security hole is large enough).
     
  7. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    Linux Mint live CDs do support both flash and java. (there could be others but I don't know them)

    This doesn't really solve the security issue, as you would be using a vulnerable java plugin again, so technically you could be targetted by malware, who could even very easily gain root access (on the live CD, a passwordless sudo su gives you root terminal) and then mount the Windows partition and put crap in it.

    But really I'm writing this because computer security is about a nutty paranoid mindset.
    If you do this you'll be using a blank firefox profile, go to your work-related site and do your stuff, few chance of running a rogue java applet and malware would be more likely to target Windows than Linux or a Linux live CD.
     
  8. Tahir2

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Earth
    Needs to be compatible with Mac OS X 10.6 or above or XP SP3 and above unfortunately.

    Run a VM in a VM... sounds like this guy:

    [​IMG]

    Sad state of affairs really... :(
     
  9. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,197
    Likes Received:
    764
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
  10. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    I've ran Java in a VM exclusively for 4-5 years now. I would get rid of the thing but we still use it to teach OOP.

    If a VM sounds like too much hassle realise it can run more than just Java. I use mine to try any new or dubious apps. Depending on your host hardware and guest OS it doesn't have to be a painful experience.
     
  11. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    Yes, especially if you have over 2GB ram it's damn easy, Virtualbox is clicky-clicky (very easy to disable usb, sound, change the networking model, modify storage) and you have a large choice of easy drop-in OSes : lubuntu 12.04, mint 13 xfce, the new debian stable in the near future - I really wonder when it's released - or even the current debian stable which should be fine.

    That's only touching the debian/ubuntu family but these are well known. You could even use XP if you have the time to let it do hundreds updates.
     
  12. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,215
    Likes Received:
    1,736
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    I like to keep my java on one of those kids leashes when I go out running with it, that way it can't get too far ahead of me. (I can't run as fast as I used to)
     
  13. Michel

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I copied the plug-ins to the plug-ins folder for my tor application but java still does not work. It show up in the tor firefox plug-ins menu of the browser and it shows it to be permitted. Any proposal? Thank you in advanced.
     
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,847
    Likes Received:
    2,264
    pascal/delphi ?

    Is that the right way ? dont you just install java ???
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...