Revolutions GPU architecture?

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by j^aws, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. j^aws

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    8
    [​IMG]

    It's a neat architecture with de-coupled texture units. The basis for Hollywood?

    I could see fewer VS and PS units, maybe 4 VS and 12 PS units and on-board eDRAM, all clocked lower maybe 400-500 MHz. Add a nice OOOe CPU (aka Braodway) and you're all set!
     
  2. Titanio

    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes Received:
    51
    Was the R520 team the ArtX/Flipper/Hollwood team? If so, I wouldn't be surprised to see some of both in each other.

    I wonder if Hollywood is finished yet..?
     
  3. pc999

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal
    I supose that a suped up/custum X1300/17(/6?)00 + edram would give us a incredebly visuals at 480p, although I think I would prefer a in order CPU and more power or less pricier (or a bit of both)(unless we saw a diferent price in games or in their features/longevity etc..., which I doubt).
     
    #3 pc999, Oct 3, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2005
  4. Urian

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    55
    The X1600 (the 12 pipes configuration) consumes only 25W when it runs at 500Mhz. Combine it with the PowerPC 970FX that will appear at the end of the year (16W) and you will have a very good low cost machine.
     
  5. Teasy

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I wonder how much embedded ram they'll use and how much heat that would add to the X1600? Though I suppose if its true that they're considering 720P support that could be something even they still haven't finalized.
     
  6. The GameMaster

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am going to have to say no...
     
  7. j^aws

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    8
    This is Gamecubes Flipper GPU patent,

    Graphics system with embedded frame buffer having reconfigurable pixel formats

    I wouldn't be surprised if they followed that architecture with the Rev...

    The Gamecubes CPU, Gecko, has it's vector units removed so that Flipper's vector units act like general purpose DSP's, doing sound proceesing, vertex work etc...

    I wouldn't be suprised if they modified the R520 VS units to act more like general purpose DSP's for Hollywood and removed the vector units in Broadway. This would also allow them more cache in Broadway and perhaps be OOOe too...

    As for Hollywood being 720P, maybe they opted for 480P because of the Rev controllers per pixel accuracy level...?

    480P is about 1/2 million pixels per frame so should fit into ~4 MB of eDRAM, assuming 8 Bytes/pixel. They could push it to ~6 MB eDRAM for 12 Bytes per pixel (64bit HDR, FP16) and more depending on AA levels...assuming they include eDRAM...?

    Whether Rev release on 90nm or 65nm will have a huge say on configuration...
     
  8. pc999

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal
    Really I doubt they remove the vector units, I think that considering the changes of making (eg) animations very complex ,once that will have a very complex input too for example in tenis , in a "close up" ninja gaiden like game here you can chosse to hit his leg/arm/head/whatever whit total precission, or in a Zelda/PoP those games should lead to a hard time making the animation code probably they will use a lot of processural work for it. In the other hand vector units will help them while comparing to the others in physics, sound etc...

    While the capabilits for GPGPU had increased a lot I doubt they get on pair with VMX.

    I think that they should invest a lot in CPU once that it would be a shame if it would hold in gameplay terms.
     
  9. Titanio

    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes Received:
    51
    Gekko had vmx/altivec, no?

    Yeah, I'm really really hopeful that it's a 65nm part, but maybe that's more hope than anything else.

    I think re. resolution they simply are aware than most of the market will be playing on SDTVs, and they can match (or exceed perhaps?) power per pixel of the other machines by catering to that only.
     
  10. Guden Oden

    Guden Oden Senior Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,201
    Likes Received:
    91
    Is this another of your infamous home-made speculative schematic drawings that we saw so many of during the PS3 broadband engine craze era? :D
     
  11. AlphaWolf

    AlphaWolf Specious Misanthrope
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8,415
    Likes Received:
    270
    Location:
    Treading Water
    It's a rumored leaked ATI r5xx diagram.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ATI/R5XX/4
     
  12. Guden Oden

    Guden Oden Senior Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,201
    Likes Received:
    91
    Ahh, I see. Hasn't ATi more or less confirmed though that Nintendo's getting a custom chip, and not one based on a PC GPU?
     
  13. j^aws

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah I'd agree but ATI seems to be pushing the GPGPU agenda. Gecko was based on a PPC750 with the VMX/Altivec unit removed. They put a DSP/sound processor and memory controller in Flipper. It would be interesting if they followed that line of thinking for Broadway and Hollywood, i.e pushing vector resources from CPU to GPU...



    No, Gecko doesn't have one. Instead it has an FPU that can operate in 2-way SIMD.

    If they're launching late 2006, then perhaps...

    Forcing everything for 480P, they can still achieve stunning results. But I can't see why 720P cannot be allowed too...hence earlier comment on Rev controller perhaps having a certain per pixel accuracy and not capable of 720P...

    No, not quite! I only wish I had patented that schematic though!

    Not sure, but custom needs to be defined and so does PC GPU. One could argue that Xenos is an early R600 PC GPU with custom eDRAM!
     
  14. pc999

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal
    Isnt TSCM who are ready for mass production in late 2005 (Nov, Dec?) considering that MS started production 2-3 mouths before relese, that should be enought for lauching on march 2006, BTW I think they would give a low power version instead of a fast one of the 65nm part by request of the custumers.

    Now we only need to know who is going to fab their chips :lol: ...
     
  15. arhra

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    30
    The 750 never had a vector unit to be removed. In fact, Gecko's vector math support was improved over a stock ppc750, since they added a 2-way simd capability to the FPU.
     
  16. Shogmaster

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    4
    Wow, that sounds really realy familiar. ;)
     
  17. Teasy

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Does the Mac Mini have all standard parts inside? I'm pretty sure the main memory is just a standard stick of ram. But what about graphics?, does it have an actual graphics card or did ATI allow them to intergrate a GPU on the motherboard?
     
  18. Shogmaster

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    4
    Mac Mini has standard PC2700 (or PC3200) DIMM slot, a Radeon 9200 IGP/northbridge, a 2.5" HDD, airport extreme daughter card and other necessities, and IIRC a single fan (45mm? 1" thick?) to cool the G4 CPU/heatsink and everything else. Power supply is external.
     
  19. Urian

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    55
    Yes, I have read this somewhere but I didn´t remember where and by who.
     
  20. j^aws

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah you're right. It looks like Apples and IBM's differing nomenclatures has confuzzled me, and not the first time I might add! The G4's had Altivec but not the G3's which IBM label PPC 7xxx and PPC 7xx respectively!

    Anyhow, the 2-way SIMD FPU I was already aware of as acknowledged above and if this was an enhancement at the expense of removing Altivec from G4's, then I wouldn't be surprised if they just took a stock G5 for Broadway and enhanced it too. Or the possibility of an enhanced PPE/Xenon dual issue core...
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...