Replace Game's music with your own?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by RancidLunchmeat, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. RancidLunchmeat

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,029
    Likes Received:
    620
    Location:
    In your closet
    What's the best way to replace the game's music with your own but not washout other in-game audio?

    Is there a way to do it other than turn the game's music to off, and adjust your music below the audio settings in the game?
     
  2. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,035
    Likes Received:
    1,250
    In xbox you should be able to simply play music and the game music automatically got disabled
     
  3. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    643
    Location:
    Japan
    Seems to me turning of music would be by far the easiest way to achieve this.

    The only other thing I could think of is replacing/removing game files containing music assuming that a. Doesn't crash the game and b. Launchers like steam don't automatically try to "fix" your files and c. Those files aren't in some container or whatever preventing you from messing with them.
     
  4. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,955
    Likes Received:
    3,037
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Why would you want any other way to do it? It's a PC so you don't have to do anything with the game itself other than turning off the in-game music.
     
    Kyyla likes this.
  5. RancidLunchmeat

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,029
    Likes Received:
    620
    Location:
    In your closet
    I was looking for some way to automatically adjust the levels between the music playing through the music software and the rest of the audio in the game, rather than having to adjust each volume slider independently each time so the game's audio (less the music, which is turned off), can still be heard above the music from the other program.

    Essentially, "sync" the two audio outputs so Google Play Music is always a notch or so below the Effects & Speech volume in the game.
     
  6. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    643
    Location:
    Japan
    Then why not adjust the volume of Google play music? Should take almost no time to do.

    With same task software you might even be able to do that automatically.
     
  7. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
    You could set up a couple of hotkeys that only change the volume of your music player so you can adjust it on the fly without affecting other sounds.
     
  8. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,815
    Likes Received:
    2,231
    Could you wouldnt the game have focus of all keyboard input ?
     
    RancidLunchmeat likes this.
  9. RancidLunchmeat

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,029
    Likes Received:
    620
    Location:
    In your closet
    I do, but it often requires adjusting volume of both Google play and the game in order to obtain what I consider to be a proper balance. This is doable, but it is doable each and every time. Sure it takes 'almost no time', but it still takes time. Every time. I was looking for some way to do it once, and provided the main system volume or speaker volume doesn't change, won't have to be done again.

    Any suggestions?
     
  10. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
  11. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
    .. deleeet meeee
     
  12. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,955
    Likes Received:
    3,037
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Doesn't it only have to be done once for each game? You're really not going to find something that does it automatically as it's really based on what kind of game, the audio mixing in the game, is there a lot of dialogue you want to hear etc. That's not something that can be automated.
     
  13. AzBat

    AzBat Agent of the Bat
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,933
    Likes Received:
    1,734
    Location:
    Alma, AR
    I've used AutoHotKey & it's really capable. You could easily create a macro that could be used on a per game basis. You also might look for an app to initiate a generic macro for a mouse button that could work for any game.

    Tommy McClain
     
    RancidLunchmeat and BRiT like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...