R520 - talk, rumours, speculation; the lot!

Discussion in 'Pre-release GPU Speculation' started by digitalwanderer, Jul 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BetrayerX

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PR
    You beat me to it. Boards width don't match.


    Edit: nevermind, it's 3 AM here ;).
     
    #1141 BetrayerX, Sep 8, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 8, 2005
  2. SugarCoat

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    State of Illusionism
    The article on HKEPC mentions that ATI has created something called a CrossFire Composite Engine and no longer needs to differentiate with master/slave. Could that be why there is no master for the 512, that it will work in dual mode such as SLI without needing a host card? Would make sense since the price on it already with that much memory is going to be huge.
     
  3. Jew

    Jew
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    12
    You heard it here first? ATI DID put the 10Mb of RAM on the chip. It all adds up. Plus they did some good disinfo.


    I'll bet a nice dinner this is true. Any takers?
     
  4. Martin Eddy

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Australia,Brisbane
    As much as I can't see them using EDRAM, it would sorta match in with this 512 bit internal memory interface.
     
    #1144 Martin Eddy, Sep 8, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 8, 2005
  5. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    I find it amusing that anything VR-Zone touches the sillyness about the number of pipelines utilised is still perpetuated; I'm guessing they have a board but no actual drivers. When the actual reviews hit, you'll see an image that makes it bloody obvious exactly how many pipelines the chip has.
     
  6. KimB

    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    12,902
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    No. The 512 bit internal memory interface would be to provide full bandwidth to the DDR bus while only running at the frequency of the memory (i.e. full bandwidth to DDR500 memory, for example, while running the controller at 500MHz).
     
  7. Jew

    Jew
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    12


    And this will be when?
     
  8. nagus

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    5
  9. The_Wolf_Who_Cried_Boy

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Floating face down in the stagnant pond of life.
    If you coupled the double width internal bus with some large write buffers on the memory controller would this allow for full speed (or at least improved relative to NVidia) HDR rendering, or am I thinking too simplistically?
     
  10. marco

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The netherlands
    Just spotted this at Anand: http://www.techpowerup.com/index.php?5127
    Consider this still as rumor, but close to the truth I guess..

    R520 XT

    * 512MB RAM
    * ~600 MHz core
    * ~650-700 MHz memory
    * Dual slot cooling
    * Dual DVI

    R520 XL

    * 256MB RAM
    * ~500 MHz core
    * ~500 MHz memory
    * Single slot cooling
    * VGA + DVI

    R520 LE

    * 256MB RAM
    * ~450 MHz core
    * ~450 MHz memory
    * Single slot cooling
    * VGA + DVI

    R520 XT Crossfire Edition

    * 256MB RAM
    * ~600 MHz core
    * ~650-700 MHz memory
    * Dual slot cooling
    * VGA + DVI
     
  11. demonic

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    London
    If thats correct, why couldnt they do this on all cards they wanted to be SLI ?
     
  12. Martin Eddy

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Australia,Brisbane
    Yep fair enough. Chris Ray from NVNEWS while at Rage3d basically said the same thing.



    Had to type this to stop an error message about my post being too short :roll:
     
  13. demonic

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    London
    all i can say is im so excited... the possibility of a 32pipe card, 700mhz (if it ever gets that high), 1.6Ghz mem, DUAL DVI and Crossfire as well.

    With all this power, whens the next engine after Doom3 and when is the next Unreal here! Either that, all we are all needing bigger monitors ;)
     
  14. KimB

    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    12,902
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    nVidia also has a double width internal bus. This has been around since the inception of DDR memory.
     
  15. KimB

    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    12,902
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Quick comment on this:
    The 256MB 520 XT Crossfire (if this is correct) is likely an attempt to bring the cost of the Crossfire board down to that of the normal XT.
     
  16. g__day

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Interesting pics of the board and specs:

    First pictures of cards and specs

    http://www.techpowerup.com/index.php?5127

    R520 spy pics
    HKEPC has the R520 core picture (here), we have the full PCB.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/img/05-09-07/r520front.jpg

    http://www.techpowerup.com/img/05-09-07/r520back.jpg

    The card you are seeing is the R520 XT. It is a dual slot solution and uses a cooler similar to the X850. ATI will also offer one-slot versions which will have less performance.

    The will only be PCI-Express boards. AGP versions are definitely not planned.
    Internally the chip will use 512-bit memory transfers. However, the external memory interface will still be 256-bit - expect some nice marketing from ATI regarding that "feature".

    Right now the product lineup is:
    R520 XT

    512MB RAM
    ~600 MHz core
    ~650-700 MHz memory
    Dual slot cooling
    Dual DVI
    R520 XL

    256MB RAM
    ~500 MHz core
    ~500 MHz memory
    Single slot cooling
    VGA + DVI
    R520 LE

    256MB RAM
    ~450 MHz core
    ~450 MHz memory
    Single slot cooling
    VGA + DVI
    R520 XT Crossfire Edition

    256MB RAM
    ~600 MHz core
    ~650-700 MHz memory
    Dual slot cooling
    VGA + DVI
    I guess we can expect a Pro version in between there soon.

    In the thread at HKEPC linked above (translated) "it is likely that the ATI R520 will change its name to ATI Radeon X1800 series, the estimated release date for the ATI X900 series is early October".
    One of these two names is correct my source says, he didn't want to reveal which one though. The October release date is correct.
     
  17. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    I think people are forgetting something related to the memory bus.
     
  18. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    767
    Location:
    London
    8x32 is the hint isn't it? Rather than 4x64. As per Aaron's posting.

    Jawed
     
  19. _xxx_

    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    How do you guys come up with such claims? That RAM being DDR does NOT make it 512 bit, just makes it work like SDR with double the frequency. The width stays the same, though :!:
     
  20. _xxx_

    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    What's up with you guys, never heard of DDR before?

    512-bit SDR @ 500 MHz != 256-bit DDR @ 500 MHz. Never.

    This would be correct:
    256-bit SDR @ 1000 MHz == 256-bit DDR @ 500 MHz :!:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...