R420 Shows up at IDF

Discussion in 'Beyond3D News' started by Dave Baumann, Feb 19, 2004.

  1. Anonymous

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 1978
    Messages:
    3,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey D/C I know many people right now who rip all their favorite tv shows in HDTV and this card would be VERY useful to them! So dont go saying this is a useless feature.

    The only people that end up buying these top end parts are the exact same people that already have HD-TV's. I know my friends and I will get a lot of use out of it.
     
  2. DemoCoder

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    California
    No problem. I'll lend you some of my expert advice as a amateur videographer/photographer. Can I recommand not buying the GR-HD1 (only "prosumer" <$3000 camera) and instead wait until November 2004 when a bunch of new HDV format cameras will arrive in US? The current crop of HD cameras won't capture at 60fps and thus support only half the 720p datarate. They also don't do 1080i. Otherwise, if you want quality, you'll have to buy a $15,000-$55,000 camera.


    Then, maybe in December you can reevaluate your system to see if it can stand up to HD editing. I recently built a 1.2terabyte raid just to do SDTV editing. (to hold over 60 hours of MiniDV, and that's just to edit my honeymoon DVD)
     
  3. John Reynolds

    John Reynolds Ecce homo
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Westeros
    OT, but wasn't it weird the first time you looked at the properties of the drive and it read TB instead of GB?
     
  4. T2k

    T2k
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Slope & TriBeCa (NYC)
    Expert advice from somebody who works for 3d/animation/broadcast movie company: free up some space home and go to eBay: you can buy ~10TB FC SANs for dirt cheap. ;)
     
  5. nelg

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Toronto
    If the bridge chip limits performance to AGP levels and nV has a sizeable market share (WRT the bridged solution) would you think that this would hold back development of applications that would utilize the extra bandwidth?
     
  6. DemoCoder

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    California
    I was just discussing this with my friend the other day. We're all old enough to remember the first time we got a 20mb or 40mb drive and said "wow!" I remember when I got my first GB drive and said "I'll never fill this thing" and I use to say to my friend "imagine the day when computers have 1gb of RAM!" This was back when 16mb of ram was incredibly expensive.

    I mean, like 2 years ago I bought a 120gb drive thinking I'd have alot of space for awhile, but I started ripping DVDs, TiVO, and X-Box games (X-Box modded)

    I've had a whole drawer full of MiniDV tapes with 3 weddings (mine, and two friends), my honeymoon, my recent 3 week italy/france vacation, and a bunch of other misc stuff, and I couldn't edit them because 500gb of space, which I had mostly filled up, isn't enough. So I decided on a "final solution", buy 5 of the biggest drives I could (250gb then, now 320gb exists) and RAID-5 them (want some reliability, can't afford RAID-1 mirroring).

    But I somehow doubt this will last long. My plan is to buy the HD DirectTivo when it comes out and hack it to archive HD content to the RAID as well (along with xbox games, dvds, sd tivo, etc) I'm also about to rent a room to a friend in my house who is also a big user, and he'll probably fill up half of the RAID with porn. :) So I expect in another year, I'll need to expand.

    Here's the irony: The whole 1tb RAID costs less than the first 1gb SCSI drive I had.

    BTW, it's not just video that's the problem. I have about 10,000 6megapixel photos that eat up 10gb, and 300 medium format images scanned on a drum scanner which each up 100mb per photo (30gb). Believe it or not, that was "medium" scanning. The drum scanner could have produced 400mb images. :(
     
  7. DemoCoder

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    California
    T2k, I love your definition of dirt cheap. :)
     
  8. epicstruggle

    epicstruggle Passenger on Serenity
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Object in Space
    did a search too, and lmao, when i saw the prices. btw whats SANs stand for?

    later,
    epic
    edit:Storage Area Network?
     
  9. DemoCoder

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    California
    Storage Area Network. Imagine if IDE worked like a network where you had routers and switches. Imagine if your IDE cables could be long. Imagine if they were fibre optic. :) Imagine if you could plug 20 drives into alittle hub.
     
  10. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,276
    Likes Received:
    1,788
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    :shock: -DROOL!!!- :shock:

    I can imagine that alright, now I gotta go change my underwear... :?
     
  11. T2k

    T2k
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Slope & TriBeCa (NYC)
    ;)

    Check:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3079349836&category=44994

    Seriously: do you think it's expensive? I don't think so.

    PS: Few more...

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3078814148&category=51249 - 1.7TB Price: US $2,950.00

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3078814466&category=51249 - 3TB Price: US $3,950.00

    or

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3079567687&category=44994 - 13TB Price: US $17,500.00

    Prices are the worst, buy-it-now prices...
     
  12. T2k

    T2k
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Slope & TriBeCa (NYC)
    PS2: And serached for 'symmetrix' - and EMC the most expensive manufacturer...
     
  13. DemoCoder

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    California
    No it's definately cheap, but it's also used dot.com equipment. Great purchase for a startup business. For a consumer at home who doesn't need enterprise SAN performance, he can buy 4 320gb drives for $254 each yielding 1.2TB for $1000, 3.6TB for $3000, and 10.8TB for $9000. Now, SATA or PATA won't come close to have 255 drives arrayed in terms of performance, but that kind of performance would let you stream like 200+ streams of HD video without breaking a sweat.

    Anyway, thanks for the pointer, I'll keep an eye on these things. I used to go to DoveBid auctions at the height of the .com bust looking for cheap stuff, it's a treasure trove.
     
  14. Razor04

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well isn't that ironic for someone who has professed for something like 2 or 3 pages that consumer HD video editing is so far away. You can already do it now and whether or not there is a large market for it isn't the important part. What is important however is that it does exist and that it will grow.
     
  15. cho

    cho
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    2
    hmm, 2ppc per pipeline and native support sincos ?
     
  16. DerekBaker

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. jvd

    jvd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    12,724
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    new jersey
    Pssst 1024x768 4x fsaa 8 x aniso 190fps ut2k3
     
  18. DemoCoder

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    California
    Do what now? HD editing? I'm talking about ripping HD video from an HD Tivo and archiving it (HD Tivo can only hold 50 hrs of shows). e.g. PLAYBACK, not EDITING.

    Problems:
    #1 HD DirectTivo isn't selling yet
    #2 No one has broken HD DirectTivo encryption/protection to allow the HD digital content extraction

    I am presupposing that in the far future, someone is gonna crack the HD DirectTivo and I'll be able to rip raw HD content. Guess what? It's not a given. It was over 2 years before Tivo was cracked and MFS filesystem decoded.

    Hacking my SD DirectTivo was hard enough. I had to reinstall a new HD, drill a hole into the Tivo case for a hackish Ethernet card, install a new PowerPC linux distribution, integrate a bunch of kernel modules, edit a bunch of config files, plus I had to wait for a special version of Linux MPLAYER/MENCODER which understood the proprietary Tivo stream format. There are very few people who have a Tivo as heavily modded as me.

    I desparately want to build a PVR that can archive DirectTV satellite broadcast HDTV (without-recompression), and this is a long way off.

    HD editing? No even on the map.
     
  19. jvd

    jvd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    12,724
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    new jersey
    couldn't u just plut the tivo into the pc and edit the video that way .
     
  20. DemoCoder

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    California
    The only thing PC based PVRs can do is record terrestial (over the air) broadcasts.

    Satellite programming is heavily protected. There are no PC cards that can receive raw DirectTV feeds and play them on PC. There are DVB cards, but the content is paultry. (basically, your main choice is *analog* HDTV framebuffer capture. Getting the raw digital, without recompression, is very hard)

    Basically, satellite companies are afraid of piracy and simply don't want to expose premiere content this way. Moreover, not only is the Satellite signal encrypted, but the Tivo units contain a ASIC hardware chip that encrypts and decrypts the video on the harddrive. Morever, the output via HDCP is protected on it's way to your television set, so you can't even rip the video from the DVI cable.

    The standard definition Tivo's were cracked when someone hacked up a linux kernel module that disables the encryption chip on the Tivos. After that occured, they were able to pull unencrypted video from the Tivo HD, but it was still over 2+ years before we are at the situation today where I can stream video off the Tivo HD and straight into a Media Player on my PC.

    Short answer: ripping HD content from PVRs is not supported by the content providers, it's illegal, violates the DMCA. The only thing that's legal today is using an HD tuner, like the Hauupage WinHD-PVR or the ATI HD-All-In-Wonder and recording terrestial signals (e.g. airwaves, not satellite). Otherwise, your computer has to recompress an MPEG-2 stream that has already been compressed once, leading to very bad ARTIFACTS. That's why DirectTIVO has way better quality than standard alone Tivos combined with Satellite Receiver or Cable Box. Compression->decompression->recompression->decompression playback yields nasty quality.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...