Qualcomm Adreno 4xx

Discussion in 'Mobile Graphics Architectures and IP' started by Rys, Apr 7, 2014.

  1. Rys

    Rys PowerVR
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,156
    Likes Received:
    1,433
    Location:
    Beyond3D HQ
    Figured I'd start a dedicated thread for 4xx, now that Adreno 430 and 418 are out in the open with Snapdragon 808 and 810.

    Announcement.

    Looks like 20nm for the 810 is confirmed, given the perf up, power down claims, versus 805/Adreno 420.
     
  2. Helmore

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. sebbbi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,924
    Likes Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Another chip with confirmed OpenGL ES 3.1 support. I am very happy :)
     
  4. loekf

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Nijmegen, The Netherlands
    So where the 64-bits Krait CPU ? Another year out ? Anand says "later this year".... for any announcement.
     
  5. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,973
    Likes Received:
    4,565
    So Qualcomm is publicly acknowledging that a big.LITTLE configuration using ARM's A5x architecture is better than the quad-core Kraits?
     
  6. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    It's probably saying that their own 64bit core isn't ready yet, and they're being pragmatic. No customer is going to care whether or not it's a Qualcomm designed core. 64-bit or not is a different story.
     
  7. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,420
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Chania
    Why waste time to develop and optimise something like say aSMP with quad A57 cores when they intend to use them only as mid life kicker until their own 64bit CPUs are ready?
     
  8. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    910
    It's not entirely impossible that they will use big.LITTLE with Krait cores and A53s eventually, of if that's not possible because Krait cores are incompatible, with the inevitable 64-bit variant of the A17.

    Besides, it's Qualcomm we're talking about, and it's their first 20nm SoC. This chip will sell in the dozens of millions.
     
  9. Exophase

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    429
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Let's say Samsung intends to have a Cortex-A57 based SoC ready themselves in 1H 2015, so it can be used in some markets for Galaxy S6. I don't think they'll want to dual-source that with a 32-bit SoC. The result would be using the Samsung SoC for the entire line or even sourcing MediaTek. The same scenario can hold for other OEMs..

    Giving up high end phones for even two quarters, during a time when a lot of big Android phones launch, would be pretty bad for Qualcomm.

    If it were just a matter of rushing to bolt on 64-bit support to Krait they may have done that (although I could be underestimating the effort necessary even for just this), but I think they'd still ultimately have a noticeably less competitive CPU even ignoring 64-bit. I expect their true 64-bit Krait offering to bring with it substantial uarch modifications too, which would be what is really driving the release schedule.
     
  10. Nebuchadnezzar

    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    They've had first silicon back in December and are pushing out public Linux patches for the SoC since February. My guess they'll have it much much earlier than that.
     
  11. DSC

    DSC
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    3
    It's obvious Qualcomm got caught with their pants down when Apple Cyclone 64bit ARMV8 came around and there's no way they can develop a 64bit architecture in 1 year.
     
  12. Exophase

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    429
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    I don't think it's competition from Apple pressuring Qualcomm directly nearly as much as it's MediaTek, Samsung, and maybe to some degree nVidia. Apple going 64-bit isn't totally irrelevant, but the whole iOS vs Android battle is a lot more entrenched than that, I think few people were convinced to move to iOS because they're 64-bit now. 64-bit could more easily tip one Android device in favor of another.

    We can already see Qualcomm (sadly) giving in to marketing pressure from MediaTek by making an 8 core A53 SoC.
     
  13. wishiknew

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    6
    Real nice of Qualcomm to announce this just days before the S5 goes on sale.
     
  14. Mariner

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    241
    Doesn't really matter, though, does it? We'll not be seeing anything containing Adreno 4xx for at least six months and the Snapdragon 808/810 won't be here for another year. Not exactly Osborning the 801 or the SGS5 when they aren't going to have anything more powerful available for 12 months!
     
  15. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,420
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Chania
    Honestly I'd like to see such a scenario first before I'll even think of it.

    That has nothing to do with what I said and I'm afraid Exophase missed my point by a greater extend. Tottentranz said something about QCOM indirectly admitting that big.LITTLE is better than aSMP. And again given the relatively small lifetime those SoCs will have until QCOMs own 64bit CPU SoCs arrive it wouldn't had been worth the hustle to develop/adjust any aSMP method for ARM A57 cores and not use big.LITTLE instead.

    I don't see QCOM admitting anything directly or indirectly; it's to me just a temporary necessary "evil" (and yes while I like big.LITTLE I still personally prefer aSMP to set that one clear).
     
  16. Erinyes

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    92
    Exactly..though I think we were all surprised to see that Qualcomm would be using A57 for their first 64 bit parts..I'm sure everyone expected them to be ready with a 64 bit Krait core. And given how quickly Apple was able to do it, one wouldn't have though Qualcomm would be so far behind. Its looking like their own 64 bit Krait wont be ready till H2'15 at the earliest, 2 years behind Apple.

    Its not like Qualcomm would have started development only after Apple announced Cyclone..but I guess either their scheduling was off..or they had a delay. So they had to use A57 as a stopgap. As the saying goes..the easiest way to lose a fight is to not show up at all.


    Edit: Forgot to add..I am confused by the positioning of the 808. They mean it to be a successor to 801, but it has only 2 A57's along with 4 A53's. The 801 it is supposed to replace has quad Krait 400's. Now I'm sure marketing will spin the 808 as a "hex core" and hence better than quad (Though in this case it is a true hex core as all six cores can be active at once), but looking at performance, would dual A57+quad A53 be able to beat quad Krait 400's? And how would they compare on power?
     
    #16 Erinyes, Apr 11, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2014
  17. Nebuchadnezzar

    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    If they don't clock them too conservatively, pretty sure that yes. At least the 400, since we don't have numbers on the 450's yet.
     
  18. Helmore

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't the Krait 450 pretty much a Krait 400 with slightly better caches and clocked a little higher? I personally don't expect much of a difference in performance and maybe no difference clock for clock. I could be wrong of course.
     
  19. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,420
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Chania
    If they clock them too aggressively on the other hand it might be easy to beat A, B or C single handed, but also at the cost of quite a bit more power consumption. I don't know yet how the picture looks like with A57s, but with A15 R3 cores I have the impression that even 2.1GHz for a smartphone SoC is quite aggressive.
     
  20. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    Very intriguing to me why the so large difference in specifications between 808 and 810. One with DDR3, the other with DDR4, the first with limited display resolution support, the second with much improved...
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...