Programming real-time graphics/games in C?

TranquilSea

Newcomer
Hello, all!

I'm a C programmer whose spent most of his time writing console based programs, but I want to go ahead and start writing real-time 3D programs with the intention of writing video games.

What APIs do you all reccomend I learn to use (I'm running a windows-xp machine)? I really, really would like to use C and not C++, since I actually have spent most of my coding career writing C and only have taken cursory glances at C++ code.

Thank you!

-TranquilSea

One of the two major APIS: DirectX (DX9 / DX10) or possibly OpenGL.

One of the two major APIS: DirectX (DX9 / DX10) or possibly OpenGL.
I guess that DirectX is out of the question here. It's not only OOP but it's also COM-based which means you have to understand the Component Object Model principles. So in TranquilSea's case OpenGL seems to be pretty much the only reasonable solution.

Doing it without learning C++ is going to be somewhat of a chore. There are a lot of cases where C++ is beneficial. You could probably get away with using DirectX and just knowing what things do not how they do them.

Basic tasks have been simplified immensely with recent versions of DirectX. I'd recommend downloading the DirectX SDK and reading through the basics to get an understand of just how things are working.

I guess that DirectX is out of the question here. It's not only OOP but it's also COM-based which means you have to understand the Component Object Model principles. So in TranquilSea's case OpenGL seems to be pretty much the only reasonable solution.

Noncence. Only because it uses fancy pointers to functions it does not make DX "oop" and basics of COM are grasped within 10 minutes.