Pre-announcement: OpenCL BLAS

Discussion in 'GPGPU Technology & Programming' started by codedivine, May 5, 2012.

1. codedivine

Regular

Just wanted to pre-announce a project I am working on: an OpenCL BLAS.

1. First version will be released at end of May hopefully. Significant progress has been made. No support for complex types in the first release. And mostly focusing on BLAS3.

2. Tested against AMD (radeon 5850), Nvidia (tesla c2050) and Intel (i7 920) implementations on Linux, and against AMD implementation on Win 64. Trying to procure a Radeon 79xx and a GTX 680 for performance testing as well.

3. License will be Apache 2

4. API similar to AMD's BLAS API.

Please let me know if you are interested in beta testing and I may make something available to you in a week or two. If you are an OpenCL implementation provider, and would like to make hardware/software available to me to test, that will be appreciated as well. I am a grad student at McGill. You can also reach me at @codedivine on twitter.

2. cho

cho
    Regular

I want a HPL setup guide with OpenCL BLAS :)

3. codedivine

Regular

Will look into it, but do remember that it is a GPU BLAS, not a drop-in replacement for the CPU BLAS. My BLAS is more like CUBLAS, where the data transfer is left upto the programmer.

4. RecessionCone

Regular Subscriber

I'm curious - how are you dealing with performance portability? For example, the SGEMM routine I'd write for G80 would be very different than Tahiti, which would be different still from the one I'd write for GK104.

Some choices:
    1. Don't worry about performance portability. This is a place to start, but likely will leave large performance factors (5x?) on the table.
    2. Provide a fallback implementation for unknown/obscure platforms, and custom implementations for important platforms. This is a lot of programming effort, and potentially introduces a lot of bugs.