Possible to Lock PC Games to 30fps?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by sir doris, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    131
    I've always had pretty good gaming PC's or consoles so not come across this problem before. I've just upgraded one of my HTPC's (Pentium G840, 4GB) with an HD7750 so it will be able to play games. and the fluctuation in frame rates in a couple of games is terrible with V-Sync enabled.

    Playing Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit is worthy of note as it would seem v-sync can't be disabaled. At 720p (native res of my projector) is nearly unplayable with the random stuttering when it drops from 60fps. Surprisingly running at 1080p (my projector accepts 1080p) with all options on, it actually plays much better as the framerate is more consistent, around 30fps.

    This game on the consoles plays very well, as it's locked at 30fps. If the PC could be locked to 30fps it would play just as well as the consoles and look miles better. So is there anyway to lock PC's frame rate to 30fps?
     
  2. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,570
    Likes Received:
    656
    Location:
    WI, USA
    NVIDIA has a frame rate target option built into their driver that one can access with NVIDIA Inspector. But I'm not sure what you can do with a Radeon. If you ran 1080i you would be limited to 30 fps with vsync.
     
  3. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,816
    Likes Received:
    2,990
    Interlacing, I thought we killed that back in the 80's
    why your having trouble running a game from 1998 at 60fps I have no idea
     
  4. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    131
    Just tried another google (I did google before I posted this thread) and it looks like MSI Afterburner might work, will have to give it a go over the weekend.
     
  5. cychris

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Wasn't there a new Hot pursuit by Criterion? Released a couple of years ago I think.
     
  6. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    131
    Yeah, that's the game I'm talking about
     
  7. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    I believe 3dfx drivers had an optional "multiplier" for v-sync, a number of "pending frames". If set to two, this supposedly slows down v-sync by a factor of two, i.e. you lock down to 30Hz.
    I've never used the feature because I would just play with vsync off at 75, 85 or 100Hz.
     
  8. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,505
    Likes Received:
    424
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Look for the RadeonPro tool. It features Dynamic Framerate Control, where the user can set a target FPS value and can toggle/adjust it in real-time.
     
  9. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,816
    Likes Received:
    2,990
    Aha hot pursuit 3 aka hot pursuit 2010
     
  10. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,270
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    I got sick of all the fps fluctuating in games and trying to hunt down ways to cap at 30fps. In some games it's really easy to do, in others it's hard, and in others it's impossible.

    Now that I have a GTX670 there is no problem, but with the GTX260 the fluctuations could be painful in some games.

    Anyway there is a tool called FPS Limiter that works for some DX9 games. You could try it.
     
  11. Argoon

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your PC is old and the game is fluctuating between 30 and 60fps then i see why you want this, but if you are able to play at constant 60 fps imo you shouldn't limit yourself to 30fps, at 60fps games look more fluid.
     
  12. almighty

    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    5
    I posted a FPS limiter on here some years ago that uses Java, works like a charm on old games.

    Have you actually tried searching Google first to see if the games has a console command to limit the FPS?
     
  13. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,270
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    ^ That's the one I was talking about. It is creatively called "FPS Limiter". I think the latest version is 0.2.
     
  14. snarfbot

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    197
    dxtory lets you lock framerate to whatever you want.
     
  15. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    131
    Thanks for all the replies, looks like MSI's afterburner works for NFS:HP, game runs really well:)

    Afterburner seems to be built on Riva Tuner as that's what opens up, and it's where you set the framerate cap.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...