PlayStation 4 (codename Orbis) technical hardware investigation (news and rumours)

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Love_In_Rio, Jan 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. onQ

    onQ
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    55
    Yes I know it was crazy but it was the easiest way I could think of to simulate this [​IMG].
     
  2. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    Ah I see. When I first saw HMZ-T1, I thought of adding a camera to the unit too. I think it will open up new application areas (e.g., Augmented capability). Its AR applications may be beyond gaming, and outside the living room.
     
  3. Nevod

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Krasnoyarsk, RF
    All capacitative touch panels work the same, it's possible to use a notebook touchpad that way (if the drivers allow, but again, it's software), actually, it's just that the driver has to emulate the mouse and thus convert absolute position into relative position. Direct touch wouldn't be convenient on a small feedbackless panel though - drawing tablets are much bigger and some even have screens. With a small touchpad in direct-touch mode it would be hard to hit the exact place, with mouse emulation mode you have continious visual feedback.

    DS4 could use both modes with ability to select. I'd really like to see a FPS with coarse and quick control from touchpad and precise aim from gyro.
     
  4. anexanhume

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    692
    Jon Stokes (formerly of Ars Technica) is talking of doing a deep dive for Orbis as a 1.99 kindle single. Would be an interesting addition to this discussion.
     
  5. DopeyFish

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    VGLeaks has been 100% correct so far... besides 8 GB of ram

    considering how he said it... it seemed like it was last second
     
  6. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,492
    Likes Received:
    8,695
    Location:
    Cleveland
  7. inefficient

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Tokyo
  8. Billy Idol

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,940
    Likes Received:
    768
    Location:
    Europe
  9. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    He also said the following which I thought was pretty interesting:

    all apps are better with half the cores at twice the performance, the question gets more nuanced if the trade is at 1.5x perf
     
  10. anexanhume

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    692
    Piledriver vs jaguar?
     
  11. scently

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    81
    What does that mean?

    EDIT: Oh, he seems to be talking about the cpu.
     
  12. Gipsel

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    I always said that BD/PD/SR derived cores are very unlikely to be able to clock twice as high when constrained to the same low power budget as the 8 Jaguar cores got. Each additional Watt for the CPU is missing on the GPU side. It makes a lot of sense to restrict the CPU power budget to 20-25W or something. And how high does one get four PD cores within that on TSMC's 28nm process (which also means one has to put in a tremendous effort to port PD from GF's 32nm SOI to it in the first place)? And the other way around, the SOI processes of GF appear to be not a perfect fit for the GPU part. Taking future shrinks and possible changes of the foundry into consideration, it was simply the better solution to put in twice the number of Jaguar cores instead of expensively porting PD cores and strangling them to low frequencies with the power budget afterwards.
     
  13. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    Why would they port PD to 28nm rather than just using SR which will already be 28nm and available commercially in the launch timeframe of the new consoles?

    I do agree with you're point though. PD/SR simply aren't designed to be very low power so I'm not sure you could get them within 25w at any reasonable clock speed.

    I'd also be curious what Carmack is defining as a core there. In Intels case it's obvious, in AMD's not so much.
     
  14. almighty

    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    5
    Has anyone else seen the comparison shots of UE4 running on PS4 and PC?

    They stripped a heck of a lot of the demo to get it run on PS4.... A lot more then even I thought...
     
  15. SedentaryJourney

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    27
    At this point in the game that isn't too concerning. They probably didn't have much time to put something together and the state of the tools is probably not complete if most developers weren't even sure how much RAM the final console was going to have.
     
  16. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
    This.They have beta kits, with representative almost final silicom from January, and developers said they are more powerful than the prior ones, so the enhanced gpu,uma, and apu latencies will star to shine from now.And libgcm!.
     
  17. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,983
    Likes Received:
    1,494
    Twitter responses from epic people seem to sugest that they only just found out about the 8 gigs of ram. So my thought is the demos were made around a 4 gig ram budget
     
  18. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    For Orbis' initial UE4 performance, I wouldn't use Epic's demo to judge it. A better candidate is probably Knack. I suspect like the Uncharted 1 days, they are building custom tools as they make the game. Then, those tools and frameworks will be shared around.
     
  19. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    What exactly is libGCM ?
     
  20. Accord1999

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    I interpret it as that that he would rather have 4 Jaguar cores at 3.2 GHz rather than 8 cores at 1.6 GHz. And even if the 4 core Jaguar is only at 2.4 GHz, it may still beat the 8 core in the majority of use cases.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...