[PC] Wolfenstein 2009

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Davros, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,874
    Likes Received:
    2,808
    Location:
    Finland
    cheats also come available straight via menu after you complete the SP-campaign, so for replay-value you don't need to go add them there yourself
     
  2. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,311
    Likes Received:
    846
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    I am underwhelmed. The graphics aren't very good at all and especially the textures are not as crisp and sharp as we've become used to. I would have liked to be able to use higher resolution textures.

    Gameplay is not very innovative and exciting, but that may be from the clunky mouse control. Apparently the vertical mouse sensitivity is, by default, half of the horizontal mouse sensitivity. Even at the highest setting in the GUI, it feels like you have something sticky under your mouse.

    Big huge meh all around.
     
  3. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    Its from ID ! What engine is it using? Doom 3? Doesn't look like that though!
    I didn't know it was out already? :shock:
     
  4. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,311
    Likes Received:
    846
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    Raven made the game.
     
  5. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    They also made Quake 4 , so must be the Doom 3 engine only. Heard they have altered it a lot.

    How's the SP? I want some old school SP goodness, with all the ridiculousness that games used to posses :D !
     
  6. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,874
    Likes Received:
    2,808
    Location:
    Finland
    The MP uses ETWQ-based version of id Tech 4 engine ("Doom 3" engine"), but SP uses IIRC D3D-renderer, other engine features being from id Tech 4
     
  7. Florin

    Florin Merrily dodgy
    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    242
    Location:
    The colonies
    You can also get AA by copying or renaming the SP\Wolf2.exe to XR_3DA.exe and setting the antialiasing level in the Stalker profile of the Nvidia driver. This works fine for me on a GTX280 on Vista64 with the 190.62 driver. No need to have nHancer installed and looks great.
     
  8. dizietsma

    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    13
    The visual quality is so low I cannot play it, it seems to be little better than RTCW, if at all. I think I must have been spoilt by COD modern warfare and Crysis.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...