[PC] Wolfenstein 2009

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Davros, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. Suflex

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Egypt
    I also think the aliasing isn't too distracting in this game.

    Nice game BTW...
     
  2. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,835
    Likes Received:
    3,026
  3. Cartoon Corpse

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    22
    I'm liking it, but not loving it.


    Bad IMO:
    NME respawns so you have to fight your way through the same area over and over again with NMEs in the same positions. Not as bad as farcry2, but disappointing.

    invisible walls. nuff said

    no quick save. a couple of my deaths meant replaying a hefty chunk of 'plowed ground'.


    Good IMO:

    finding stuff (love that)
    buying upgrades
    decent quality missions, voice, music, graphics
     
  4. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,645
    Likes Received:
    2,113
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    I agree the aliasing really isn't that bad in this game, but it's still fairly obvious it lacks AA.

    It's weird how the aliasing doesn't look as horrible as other games, but it is true. There's some jaggies, but not a lot of shimmers.
     
  5. dskneo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    35
    I don't think its obvious at all. I was playing farcry2 and lfs without AA just to compare and it was horrible everywhere. But Wolfenstein is really clean.
     
  6. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Sounds good then. I'll see over at the gamestore if I pick this one up or if my attention is stolen by some rebates or other interesting games.
     
  7. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,040
    Likes Received:
    6,329
    People said the same thing when Doom 3 came out and there was no AA. It still drove me batty.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  8. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,645
    Likes Received:
    2,113
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    It's definitely better than D3 was, no where near as annoying aliasing.

    Hey, I f-ing HATE aliasing with a passion...yet I'm defending this title as being not-so-horrible even though it doesn't seem to have full AA. ;)
     
  9. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,573
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Doom3 has AA right in its advanced menu. It always has I think.

    That was the first game that I noticed shader aliasing though.
     
  10. mito

    mito beyond noob
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Feindesland
    #90 mito, Aug 24, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 24, 2009
  11. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,075
    Likes Received:
    2,943
    Location:
    Finland
    Interesting, Radeons are slow compared to GF's, but take next to no hit at all from AA/AF especially at higher res's
     
  12. brain_stew

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just checked and those tests are all from the multiplayer component. Considering it uses a different graphics API and is from a different developer, I doubt those results tell us too much about single player performance.
     
  13. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,270
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Probably driver issues given the IQ problems with the Radeons.
     
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,835
    Likes Received:
    3,026
    search for wolf.cfg
    theres a line
    seta r_multiSamples "0"

    don't know if it applies to sp
     
  15. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,645
    Likes Received:
    2,113
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    It doesn't do anything for SP, I tried it. :(
     
  16. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,174
    Location:
    La-la land
    Bit of a hodge-podge this game is... Don't really care much for the mission-based system, that's not wolfenstein. There's no cohesive story development, everything becomes disjointed. Don't like that.

    It's also very noticeable they developed this game for xbox 360 first and foremost. Checkpoint saves... BOOOOO! Enemy respawns... BOOOOOO! Also, doesn't seem to be a command console built into it either, and how do I enter my cheat codes then? :p ARE there even any? I checked Gamefaqs, nothing listed at all for PC version. Maybe it's still too early, maybe I can remain somewhat hopeful.

    Also, windows vista seems to have eaten my start menu items. There's no program group for wolfenstein to be found anywhere. I checked the stupid game browser, the game doesn't appear there either. What the hell? This is the second time (well, third, in a way) that vista eats my start menu items; it also happens when installing the crysises.
     
  17. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,645
    Likes Received:
    2,113
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    I can't get a console enabled either, it's most vexxing.

    As for cheats, there's a pretty capable +4 trainer out there. Nothing fancy; but unlimited health, ammo, black sun energy, and money bumps of $10,000 don't hurt. ;)
     
  18. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,174
    Location:
    La-la land
    Trainer you say? Where? :D
     
  19. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,835
    Likes Received:
    3,026
    First, make a copy of wolf.cfg in the game folder (C:\Users\name\AppData\Local\id Software\WolfSP\base in Windows Vista). Rename it autoexec.cfg, then open it and add this line anywhere:

    seta g_cheatsAreOn "1"

    When you add one of the following cheats, you have to associate it with a key. For example:

    Bind L "god"

    This means that if you press the L button you enable God Mode.

    Here is a list of available commands you can bind to keys using the line above:
    god - Toggle God Mode
    giveAllIntel - Unlock all Intel
    givePowers - Unlock all powers
    giveGold - Free gold
    giveObjectives - Unlock Objectives
    giveAchievement - Unlock Achievements
    giveALLPowerUpgrades - Unlock all power upgrades
    notarget - Toggle targeting
    novis - ?
    give ammo_shroud - Add ammo for Shroud
    give ammo_tesla - Add ammo for Tesla
    give ammo_panzer - Add ammo for Panzer
    give ammo_mauser - Add ammo for Mauser
    give ammo_mp43 - Add ammo for MP43
    give ammo_mdl24 - Add ammo for MDL24
    give ammo_particle_cannon - Add ammo for Particle Cannon
    give ammo_mp40 - Add ammo for MP40
    give ammo_default - Add ammo for your current weapon
    give ammocomponent - Add ammo for component
    momoney - Add money
     
  20. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,645
    Likes Received:
    2,113
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Thanks Dav, I'll play with that later. I like the idea of replaying it with all powers/upgrades unlocked from the get go. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...