[PC] Wolfenstein 2009

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Davros, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,576
    Likes Received:
    2,019
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Well I know it's not gonna be the consensus opinion, but I like the game! Sure it has problems and I could nit-pick it to death, but the bottom line is I'm having fun playing it and having a hard time stopping once I start. :)

    Y'know what I really like so far? No stupid quicktime events. No, "HIT THE 'X' KEY NOW OR DIE!", suddenly popping up in a cinematic. It has a solid old skool FPS core and gameplay to match, which is sort of oddly refreshing to me lately.

    I'm liking the magic powers too, adds a bit of spice.

    Like I said, I know I'll probably be in the minority since all the kewl kids will be ripping this game a new arsehole...but I bloody well like it so far quite a bit.
     
  2. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Played one Raven game, played them all ;)
     
  3. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,855
    The guy in Game was putting copies of wolf in the back room, he wouldnt sell me one though
    u.k release is friday :(
     
  4. karlotta

    karlotta pifft
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    oregon
    What about the AA?
     
  5. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,576
    Likes Received:
    2,019
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Nope, but it's not all that terribly noticeable. Weird.

    Still needs it, but it's no where near as bad as GTA4 with jaggies/shimmers.
     
  6. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,265
    Likes Received:
    1,035
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Wait the game doesn't support AA ? :???:
     
  7. slapnutz

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isnt it using ID Tech 4? Didnt D3 and Quake4 have AA?
     
  8. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,987
    Likes Received:
    6,236
    Damn no AA? Another title off my possible buy list. /sigh.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  9. dskneo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    33
    pretty sure I'm playing it with AA

    8fsaa 16aniso

    super clean
     
  10. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,576
    Likes Received:
    2,019
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    What card Dskneo?
     
  11. brain_stew

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apparently the (OpenGL based) multiplayer supports AA just fine but the (Directx based) singleplayer portion does not. No idea if its possible to force through drivers/nhancer/config files though.
     
  12. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,576
    Likes Received:
    2,019
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Thanks for the info, I was only trying the single-player.
     
  13. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,987
    Likes Received:
    6,236
    Wha? OpenGL for Multiplayer and DX for Single? That's just goofy.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,855
    Different devs I beleive, wasnt that also the way with RTCW ?
     
  15. PhilB

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe they messed with the engine since and are now using deferred lighting (heard it in one of their interviews). We'll probably have to wait for drivers that enable it so it can be forced.
     
  16. brain_stew

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Different development houses and (unsurprisingly) the single player portion runs much better on the 360 than the multi player component.
     
  17. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Ya I wont touch this one without some AA.
     
  18. dskneo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    33
    4870x2

    has to be on, the image is super clean.
     
  19. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,873
    Likes Received:
    2,808
    Location:
    Finland
    TBH the aliasing ain't that bad in this game, IMO
     
  20. Gabrobot

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you have an nVidia card you can force AA with nHancer by using the Stalker profile.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...