Pattern for Teens Killed in Car Accidents

CMAN

Regular
http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tm...bs_usatoday/deadlyteenautocrashesshowapattern

I always knew young drivers are not good drivers. But wow, that's a good amount of evidence for a maintstream news article.

<Pats self on back for getting past 20 years old>

I remember though, thinking how I always thought I was a good driver as a teenager. Now that I am just a little bit older I know how much better I am now than I was then. I'm sure my parents are thinking "I told you so!" :oops:

I will never let my kids (when I finally have kids) drive at night with friends in an SUV after reading the article![/url]

I agree with the article where it was talking about vehicles with high roll over rates. But when you starting talking about how the driving age needs to be raised because young drivers don't have experience. You have to stop and realize that they aren't going to have any more experience if they start to drive at 16, 18, or 20. Responsibility will likely (hopefully) increase, but knowledge and experience with how to deal with how to safely avoid an object won't change.

I'm glad many states are starting to put limits on young drivers. I just missed the graduated license in IA by a couple years, but it definitely would have done me some good. It seems pretty strict, with limits on number of passengers and hours you can drive. I also believe if you get a moving violation on the GDL, you're forced to attend an interview or you lose your license. A 2nd moving violation is an automatic suspension until you're 18 (or maybe it's 12 months).

I know I could have used this, thinking back to all the times I was driving like a total idiot at night with a bunch of friends in the car.

Killer-Kris said: