Oblivion ATI/NVIDIA scores LEAKED?

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by Shadowmage, Mar 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,402
    Likes Received:
    1,868
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Well c'mon, it doesn't!

    You can't make a claim like that without any evidence to back it up, at least you can't make a claim like that without any evidence to back it up and expect people to take you even a tiny bit seriously. [​IMG]
     
  2. poopypoo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    ...at least, you can't make a claim like that without any evidence to back it up, expect people to take you even a tiny bit seriously, and not be insane! ^_~
     
  3. Apple740

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rotterdam - NL
    Compare those numbers...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Exactly the same. :)
     
    digitalwanderer and Geo like this.
  4. John Reynolds

    John Reynolds Ecce homo
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Westeros
    Well, then, it's obvious that Oblivion is using the FEAR engine. :razz:
     
  5. kemosabe

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Cool - the groundhog day benchmark graph has arrived. :wink:
     
  6. smallSHEEP

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    well these graphs all look bogus, I guess we find out in a couple of days. From all indications so far Oblivion is heavier on hardware than F.E.A.R, quite an achivement for an RPG!
     
  7. Cartoon Corpse

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    22
    dang it's probably gonna seem laggy to me. im used to 85 fps now (x1900xtx). lol.
     
  8. John Reynolds

    John Reynolds Ecce homo
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Westeros
    Matt Peckham writes for one of the PC gaming magazines and says his review copy of the game maintains pretty steadily at 60fps on his Athlon 64 dual core (not sure on the exact CPU, but it's high-end) and X1900 XT. Heavy fights briefly dip just below 30fps according to Fraps. He's playing at 1280x1024 with HDR and all in-game settings maxed out.
     
  9. SugarCoat

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    State of Illusionism

    while i would be a bit impressed that resolution impacts performance that much, once again, HDR and AA cannot work together on any PC graphics card in this game, so it is possible AA causes a very high performance loss which wouldnt be the first time for a game to do. Need a more official source though before really any of us should say much more about the current charts.
     
  10. Apple740

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rotterdam - NL
    If you can play @1280 with HDR on a single card then Crossfire can handle 4xAA+HDR. "Bad" performance on a single card should not be a reason for a dev to forget HDR+AA.
     
  11. Geo

    Geo Mostly Harmless
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,116
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Uffda-land
    Well, if they don't have the profile in yet in Cats (as JR suggests upstream), that makes sense. Default Supertiling is apparently. . .umm. . ."unimpressive" performance-wise in most gaming scenarios so far as I can tell.

    Edit: <Insert user-profiling plea to ATI #1,345 here>
     
    #71 Geo, Mar 17, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 17, 2006
  12. Pete

    Pete Moderate Nuisance
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,997
    Likes Received:
    413
    #72 Pete, Mar 17, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 18, 2006
  13. Mintmaster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,897
    Likes Received:
    87
    Great catch.

    So this slide is a lame photoshop job, and that's it?
     
  14. Shadowmage

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    I guess the proof is there... it's indisputable :(
     
  15. Sobek

    Sobek Locally Operating
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,774
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Uh...excuse me but, I was under the impression that there was no x1900XTX Crossfire...just the standard XT Crossfire.

    I thought ATI never bothered with the XTX for some reason, heat...no use when it's just a clockspeed bump...or something. So correct me if i'm wrong but that's a bit of bogus there.

    Also, on the official forums, a moderator posted in one of the threads where people were talking about these 'leaked' results, and stated that (the graph in the first post) wasn't real. I personally think that SM3 graph there is a guess-game on Nv's behalf, because if one isn't true, how can the other be? eh..
     
  16. Anarchist4000

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    359
    Nice catch on the FPS on the graphs. Figures that are 100% identical to those of FEAR would be somewhat unlikely I would have to admit.
     
  17. SugarCoat

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    State of Illusionism
    ? ?

    in other words their suggesting you avoid AA and use HDR, rather then AA and bloom, for a better effect. you cannot do both with any current cards. only the Xbox360 will support that ability. (hdr+aa)
     
    #77 SugarCoat, Mar 18, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 18, 2006
  18. PatrickL

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    13
    The sentence is misleading; You cannot do both IN THEIR GAME because of the way they coded it. Just don't forget the last bit :razz:
     
  19. Griffith

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    seem so
    I'll go for 360 version with HDR+MSAA @ 1280

    if a 1900xtx can do 35 fps @ 1600 with AA without HDR, I think that possible performances can be:
    1280 with AA without HDR around 45 fps
    1280 with AA AND HDR 20-24 fps

    but seems that PC oblivion don't use msaa + hdr, so the choice for me it's easy, even considering that on pc games, the framerates fluctues a lot around average values, so 35 is nearly bad playable because of the minimum points, imo
     
  20. martrox

    martrox Old Fart
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida USA
    What I don't understand is why can you do HDR and MSAA on a Xbox 360 - whose graphics are made by ATi...but can't do both on X1xxx also made by ATi. As both the XBox 360 and the X1xxx are using somewhat similar operating systems abilities - MS - just how much difference is the programing for the XBox 360 vs. DX9 SM3?

    It would seem that there is the possibility that they have gone out of their way to exclude HDR+AA on the X1xxx...........

    I'd ask why....but we know the answer..........
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...