Nvidia's Next-Generation RTX GPU [3060, 3070, 3080, 3090]

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Shortbread, Sep 1, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,819
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Location:
    Finland
    NIOH2 doesn't support ray tracing. NVIDIA is advertising it for the DLSS support.
     
  2. techuse

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    461
    It looks just like it does on consoles....
     
  3. Frenetic Pony

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    370
    No no, see raytracing added the valve from the creepy Valve guy. You know, for the steam version.
     
  4. techuse

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    461
    One really has to wonder how much of it is actually RT being amazeballs versus RT being pushed primarily by Nvidia.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  5. HLJ

    HLJ
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    643
    One has to wonder how much RT is being downplayed due to AMD's DXR performance deficit...I think we have seen it all by now but my favourite is still screen space reflection with obvious flawed pushed as better than RT-reflections...

    One has to wonder why AMD wasted time to implement DXR features when it is soooooo useless.

    (Or not...)
     
  6. trinibwoy

    trinibwoy Meh
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    11,214
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Location:
    New York
    I’m pretty sure everyone knew RT was amazeballs long before Nvidia started talking about it.
     
    Lightman, Sxotty, Wesker and 10 others like this.
  7. HLJ

    HLJ
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2020
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    643
    It's been over a decade of Intel promoting it:
    Quake Wars: Ray Traced - YouTube
     
    Lightman, pharma and PSman1700 like this.
  8. PSman1700

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    4,664
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    Pretty far from it, try playing both, 20mins the console version then switch to pc and vice versa. The pc version maxed out, with the addition of ray tracing using reshade RT and appropiate framerate sure does look better then the ps5 version.
     
  9. techuse

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    461
    I'm not sure how amazing current implementations can even be when people aren't able to discern when a game has it.
     
    Kaotik, Wesker, swaaye and 1 other person like this.
  10. PSman1700

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    4,664
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    Well, DF does find it a amazing tech and a huge difference in CP2077 for example. Even early games like BFV did show some nice improvements using dxr tech. But yea since the consoles basically lack it, we have to hate it, right? :)
     
    Lightman likes this.
  11. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,819
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Location:
    Finland
    Quite a turn from the game supposedly looking so incredible and detailed with ray tracing, while it actually doesn't use ray tracing, to suggesting that now we're supposed to mod it with software RT before comparing to consoles:rolleyes:
     
    A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y and Wesker like this.
  12. PSman1700

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    4,664
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    Nah, even without ray tracing, the pc version maxed does look better, while also performing better. The addition of ray tracing just lifts it even more above the ps5 version. Anyway, this isnt the thread for console warring, i posted a screenshot of Nioh 2 using RTX tech, in the NV thread, then some like you have to bring up consoles, i have no idea why but keep it elsewhere.
     
  13. DegustatoR

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    msk.ru/spb.ru
    These shots were about DLSS only though, no RT is happening there.
    DLSS does work considerably better than game's own TAA though so there's that.
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  14. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,819
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Location:
    Finland
    No. You posted a screenshot describing how good it looks thanks to ray tracing, while it does not use ray tracing at all. NVIDIA is promoting the game for it's DLSS support, it doesn't have ray tracing support.
    Also I didn't bring in the consoles.
     
  15. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,223
    Likes Received:
    3,428
    RTX 3060 vs Jetson AGX for BERT-Large (naut.ca)
    March 16, 2021
     
    Newguy, Lightman and PSman1700 like this.
  16. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,819
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Location:
    Finland
  17. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,223
    Likes Received:
    3,428
    Yeah, though despite that it was still going to be an "apples to oranges" comparison with interesting results.
     
    Lightman and PSman1700 like this.
  18. techuse

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    461
  19. OlegSH

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    863
    I can only guess how they were able to measure perf drops in games where resizable bar is not supposed to work at all without according game profile.
    It seems they have measured run-to-run variance of their tests or something along these lines in many games without game profiles or NVIDIA's profiles don't work at all or there are some HW issues when ReBAR is enabled on their testing PC.
     
    pharma, BRiT and PSman1700 like this.
  20. techuse

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    461
    I assume they would run the tests multiple times to confirm the results so its probably one of the latter issues.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...