Nvidia Sparse Grid Supersampling

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by Besian, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. Besian

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    Just got me a couple of 670's, great cards. only downside I cant seem to figure out how to get supersampling working. tried everything from nvidia control panel to nvidia inspector. Had an ati 6970 before, SSAA worked great on ATI

    Excuse my english
     
  2. tEd

    tEd Casual Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,094
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    switzerland
    SS doesn't work in every game. In many games you need to set a specific compatibility bit in NvInspector to make it work correctly.

    Example for Borderland:

    [​IMG]

    MSAA AA samples amount and SSAA samples amount should be the same.
     
  3. boxleitnerb

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    SGSSAA requires MSAA to work as it uses the same samples - on AMD and Nvidia. Look here for an extensive list of compatibility bits for MSAA and SGSSAA (German, but the list is self-explanatory):

    http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=490867

    Often, even when SGSSAA is working without bits, it may blur due to collision with the game's post processing effect. In that cases, those compatibility bits in the list reduce/remove the blur. It should also be noted that a negative LOD adjustment is highly recommended to get increased texture detail while still maintaining a shimmer-free image:

    2xSGSSAA: -0.5
    4xSGSSAA: -1.0
    8xSGSSAA: -1.5

    Those values are the maximum, you should not get more negative than that. For some games, those values are already a tad too negative. AMD uses -0.8 for their automatic LOD adjustment when using 4xSGSSAA, for example. You can set them in 0.25 intervals using Nvidia Inspector. This currently only works in DX9 and lower and OpenGL. There has been a petition going on over at Nvidia forums and to my knowledge, they will implement support for DX10/11 as well. When, is still uncertain. I hope soon.
     
    #3 boxleitnerb, Aug 8, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 8, 2012
  4. Besian

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a bunch guys, i was testing the wrong games :) strange though some off the games i tested appeared on that german site. tried borderlands works like a charm. this can now be closed.

    Happy gaming !
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...