Nvidia or AMD AF Filtering broken? (was ATI 5870 AF filtering broken?)

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by Tamlin, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. Mize

    Mize That's my stapler
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,146
    Location:
    "Midwest," USA
    is this in the 11.1a hotfix?
     
  2. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,534
    In all settings or just quality & performance?
     
  3. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,003
    Location:
    O Canada!
    Should just be performance.
     
  4. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,534
    In other words, if one considers shimmering to be IQ degrading issue, Performance in fact offers better quality than the Quality or even High Quality setting?
     
  5. Mize

    Mize That's my stapler
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,146
    Location:
    "Midwest," USA
    Indeed, perhaps "fidelity" is a better word than quality since the Q and HQ modes are better reproducing what is being asked for. Quality is subjective.

    So from the left the slider should be "Reduced Shimmer" - "Balanced Fidelity" - "High Fidelity"

    But that would confuse people.
     
  6. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,003
    Location:
    O Canada!
    With these settings the descriptions are still accurate in terms of performance, but not necessarily accurate in terms of what may turn out to be peoples preference. We are going to review them.
     
  7. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,774
    So for the less intelligent people who perhaps havnt followed everything in this 11 page thread
    its af that causes shimmer ?
     
  8. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    7,494
    Location:
    Cleveland
    It's far more complicated than that Davros.
     
  9. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,774
    Well naturally I understand its complexities I was just asking for the err other people
     
  10. Mize

    Mize That's my stapler
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,146
    Location:
    "Midwest," USA
    It's proper AF + sharp LOD so detuning the LOD limits shimmer.
     
  11. Bo_Fox

    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Have there been any extensive comparisons done on AMD's new Southern Islands cards? I can't remember which review site showed some comparisons, but I could still see some distinct lines of mipmap transitions (or at least of demarcation) where the high-frequency texture suddenly became much more blurry.

    From what I posted a while ago on Alienbabeltech forums:

    This very screenshot shows a marked difference on the bridge mesh. It's leaps and bounds more meaningful than the Trackmania screenshots. I have the save game file for anybody who wishes to test with the Radeon 5/6/7xxx cards - a very small file anyways.
     
  12. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,337
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    There you go: http://ht4u.net/reviews/2011/amd_radeon_hd_7900_southern_island_test/index9.php
     
  13. Bo_Fox

    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Thank you sir!
     
  14. Mize

    Mize That's my stapler
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,146
    Location:
    "Midwest," USA
    Anyone care to translate/distill that? Google does a terrible job with it...
     
  15. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,700
    Location:
    Germany
    My one-sentence-distillment from HT4U:
    With trilinear anisotropic filtering, GCN works fine but when the game only wants bilinear filtering and you force AF onto it, GCN still shimmers a little bit more than Geforce but way less than Cayman/Barts.

    Expansion:
    With texture filtering set to quality (driver default) there's a small positive LOD adjustment applied that alleviates the shimmering tendency compared to High Quality.
     
  16. Mize

    Mize That's my stapler
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,146
    Location:
    "Midwest," USA
  17. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,534
    Wasn't this at some point declared as "working as intended", and nvidia only gets away without shimmering because they ignore what app/game asks and always force trilinear no matter what?
     
  18. Skinner

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    871
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht/Rotterdam, Netherlands and Phobos
  19. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,765
    Location:
    Guess ;)
    Interesting find, Skinner. I always have CCC texture slider set to "high quality" because I was always mildly suspicious of texture optimization; guess I was correct to think that way :D Glad to see that AMD fixed it in the next driver; let's hope they fix some other more serious / game-breaking bugs while they're at it.
     
  20. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    I put it as always maxed out at highest possible. The performance hit is so negligibly small that it's not worth to think about it, and even before you think that when you buy something like 6870-6970-7870-7970, the only way forward is to max everything out. :grin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...