NVIDIA Kepler speculation thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Kaotik, Sep 21, 2010.

Tags:
  1. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Forgret the review of TPU, i dont know what card he have got, but all the number given by Wizzard are wrong .. he's the only one who get lower TDP for the 770.. each review made bring a 20W difference, he success to get all number of the 770 under the 680.. when all the other review bring the invert.

    you can got all the other review, the 3D load for the 680 is 1.1175V and the 770 is 1.2V ... ( so the invert of what have write TPU ). I dont know, maybe he have got a special binned chips.. but seriously i cant put 10 reviews wrong and only him got thoses results.

    clock to clock this will not change anything, due to how work the turbo ( 2.0 or not )...,
     
    #6721 lanek, Jun 3, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 3, 2013
  2. dbz

    dbz
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    41
    So, are HT4U wrong as well ?
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    694
    Location:
    O Canada!
    It probable that comparing single card voltages are unlikely to tell you much. I would wager that for the same base clock (on the same SKU) there are multiple voltages and its just the luck of the draw what reviewers compare. Given the increase in power it is likely that the overall voltage per power/leakage bin (or however they select the ASIC's speed to voltage) did increase.
     
  4. ams

    ams
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anandtech has a comparison of GeForce Clockspeed Bins between GTX 770 and GTX 680 here: http://www.anandtech.com/show/6994/nvidia-geforce-gtx-770-review/2 . As you can see from the chart towards the bottom of the page, at 1045MHz/1058MHz/1110MHz clockspeed, GTX 770 has lower voltage than GTX 680. The GTX 770 is also able to access higher voltage bins than GTX 680 to achieve even higher clockspeeds at these higher voltages.
     
  5. dbz

    dbz
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    41
    Of the ~15-20 watt observed difference in loaded power usage reported by most sites, how much (if any) would you be attributing to raising the vRAM from 6008M effective to 7010 ?
     
  6. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
    For what it's worth, according to Samsung's spec sheets 7GHz GDDR5 runs at 1.5v, the same as 6GHz.
     
  7. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    They only have a difference on the 1100mhz, mostly due to binning, some card will need less voltage for hit this.. some will hit more.. it will depend of the card, core. my point was they have increase the max limit voltage, for achieve the higher clock on Turbo Boost, but like clockspeed are linked to TDP ( and temp ), its really hard to tell for each card separately. But it seems logical if you have a little bit higher TDP ( nvidia dont advertise more TDP for nothing ), and higher voltage on max turbo clock speed it will drain too a bit of more TDP. ( but like it is really dependant of the card or chip anyway )

    On the same article of Anandtech..

     
  8. DSC

    DSC
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    3
  9. ams

    ams
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is incorrect. Re-read the page I linked to earlier. The GTX 770 and GTX 680, respectively, have differences in voltage at the following clockspeed bins:

    1110MHz: 1.162v / 1.175v
    1058MHz: 1.112v / 1.125v
    1045MHz: 1.100v / 1.112v

    On the GTX 680 reference card, the highest voltage bin is 1.175v. On the GTX 770 reference card, the highest voltage bin is 1.200v (with a mild overvoltage now available of 1.212v with 106% power target). The clockspeeds are not equivalent at any of these voltages. The GTX 680 has a clockspeed of 1110MHz at 1.175v, while the GTX 770 has a clockspeed of 1136MHz at 1.200v (and has a clockspeed of 1110MHz at a lower 1.162v).
     
  10. Osamar

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    40,00ºN - 00,00ºE
    Zotac?????
     
  11. TKK

    TKK
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    :lol:

    Yeah, the censoring on that image is great. I have no idea which company that might be, there are so many possibilities...
     
  12. caveman-jim

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I don't think anyone benches more than 60-120 seconds...
     
  13. Babel-17

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    282
    Looks like their color scheme, but maybe instead their sister company, Inno3D?

    http://www.inno3d.com/product/gtx780.html

    Check the box art at the above. Not exactly the same, but similar.
     
  14. A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    When is the NDA on the GTX760 to be lifted?
     
  15. iMacmatician

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    219
    From Videocardz: "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 To Be Released On June 25th."

    According to some of their sources, the GTX 760 Ti will replace the GTX 670, and the GTX 760 will be a rebranded GTX 660 OEM. Only the 760 (whatever it will be) is scheduled for a June release.
     
  16. Wynix

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    57
  17. iMacmatician

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    219
    Reports including that one do say it has a 256-bit bus but maybe it actually has a 192-bit bus as some other reports suggest.

    Also why are there memory chips "missing"?
     
  18. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,856
    Likes Received:
    913
    Location:
    WI, USA
    I'll take the mug.
     
  19. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    1,733
    Location:
    France
    Big +1 here.
     
  20. Wynix

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    57
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...