NV and H.264 acceleration ?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by chavvdarrr, Mar 6, 2006.

  1. chavvdarrr

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Sofia, BG
    anyone able to see this in action ?
    I have 6600 and tried to see what happens, but unfortunately the Nero codec seems to have "priority" and i don't know how to remove it and use NV's codec :(
     
  2. Hanners

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    England
    I've been trying to put some testing together using the trial version of NVIDIA's latest PureVideo decoder with the latest ForceWare 84.12 Beta drivers up against 81.98, and I'm not seeing any difference in CPU utilisation between the two either.

    I'm sure there must be something I'm missing, but I just can't figure out what...
     
  3. Rys

    Rys PowerVR
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,156
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Beyond3D HQ
    For 84.xx you might need an even newer version of the decoder (not available yet) to see any extra performance difference.
     
  4. chavvdarrr

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Sofia, BG
    do you see new icon at tray bar while playing video content ?
    I don't... just sucessfully removed all kind of Nero-related decoders... and now WMPlayer says that there is no codec able to play h.264 content :(, to me the instalation of this NV codec seems broken
     
  5. Hanners

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    England
    The latest PureVideo decoder download is dated March 2nd - It mentioned the following in the release notes, so I kinda assumed it has been released around that time due to having H.264 hardware decoding included:

     
  6. Rys

    Rys PowerVR
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,156
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    Location:
    Beyond3D HQ
    Heh, hadn't seen that. I'm not 100% sure, then! :lol:
     
  7. chavvdarrr

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Sofia, BG
    do I need anything else? separate h.264 codec ?
    I thought that this "purevideo" IS h.264 codec... or I need this, 84.12 AND codec from nero/windvd/powerdvd ?
    I'll try with 81.98 also....

    edit: opening DVD with WMP shows the NV purevideo icon in tray ... but who cares about DVD acceleration !?

    PS: installed VLC 0.8.4b
    several mp4 files now play very smooth - 30% CPu utilisation (iP4 620, 3.0GHz, 1GB ram on i915 chipset, 6600GT)
    the NV icon is not visible on th etray but pure video MUST be working - few hours ago same files were playing choppy with >50% cpu utilisation

    edit: actually 30% means 60, cause the cpu uses HT ...
     
    #7 chavvdarrr, Mar 6, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 6, 2006
  8. Hanners

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    England
    Nero have a 30 day trial of Nero 7 Ultra Edition, which includes H.264 decoding support for NVIDIA boards. You can grab that from here.

    Also, PC Inpact have tested NVIDIA's H.264 decoding here (It's in French, here's the Google translated version).

    Guess I'll have to give it a try using Nero ShowTime to see how it goes.
     
  9. cho

    cho
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    2
  10. breez

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Finland
    VLC uses libvacodec which certainly doesn't support Purevideo.
     
  11. chavvdarrr

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Sofia, BG
    Right now VLC definetely IS NOT using ffdshow , cause in ffdshow CP i disabled it from playing h.264 content, and indeed the ffdshow video codec icon is not shown in the tray.
    CPu utilisation is lower also.
    Just don't ask me what codec VLC is using..... :D
     
  12. breez

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Finland
    VLC doesn't use DS filters at all, but its own set of codecs which libavcodec (ffmpeg) is a part of and handles all H.264 content playback in VLC.
     
  13. chavvdarrr

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Sofia, BG
    ok.
    facts:
    Installed 84.12
    Installed Pure Video
    Installed Nero 7.0.5.5
    Enabled HW acc
    tried to play the mentioned 110MB h.264 file (the greatest game)
    Starts playing, but image stills in one moment on another (few seconds play ok). Then... still image. Also before "stilling from time to time there are colourful artefacts... like from shifting hue/saturation controls . OSD shows that content is AVC "hardware accelerated" . LOL
    CPU utilisation is HIGH - 80+% on iP4 3.0GHz, HT ON
    Another h.264 file, downloaded from MS site with trailer for Underworld:evolution plays ok. CPU is ~ 30% (so taking in account HT - 60%)
    video: 6600GE (450/1000)


    With VLC, Underworld plays ok and CPu utilisation is LOWER, say ~20%
    "The greatest game" plays ... with high CPU load, every 2-3 seconds of playback are followed from 5-6 sec of still image, but at least after that for another few seconds there is "moving picture" :D
     
    Geo likes this.
  14. breez

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Finland
    What software did you use to play the file?

    I don't think MS offers H.264 material, but WMV-HD :)

    VLC using libavcodec is more efficient than most software codecs.

    I suggest you to try CoreAVC software H.264 decoder and a DS player. It is a lot faster than libavcodec even...

    http://files.x264.nl/force.php?file=./CoreAVC20060113.7z

    Install from commandline: regsvr32 CoreAVCDecoder.ax

    Use Media Player Classic or some other player supporting DirectShow filters. Make sure H.264 support is disabled from ffdshow (if you have that installed).

    Of course this leaves your GF hardware unused, but maybe you won't care when the video plays smoothly and with a manageable CPU usage :wink:
     
    #14 breez, Mar 6, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 6, 2006
  15. Zaphod

    Zaphod Remember
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    98
    And the author of CoreAVC has promised GPU acceleration support down the line when the commercial release cometh.
     
  16. breez

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Finland
    Yup and I expect it to run around circles the other HW supporting decoders (seeing as the pure software implementation is already so efficient).
     
  17. chavvdarrr

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Sofia, BG
    10x a lot, this codec really RULEZ :)
    ~50% cpu load and the 1080p movie runs smooth!
     
  18. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,163
    Likes Received:
    737
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
  19. sharangad

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    nVidia H264 decoding

    Hi

    I have an AGP 6600 GT and I have paid for the Cyberlink supporting H264 decoder. I also tried the trial of the Nero Purevideo supporting decoder.

    Unfortunately, on both of them with hardware acceleration turned on, it looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    Also WMV HD hardware acceleration has been non-functional on the AGP 6600 GT since the Forceware 80 series began. The last drivers to support it was 79.xx.

    I don't really know how nVidia can claim that the AGP 6600 GT supports WMV HD and H264 decoding when neither of these appear to work. MPEG-2 HD works fine though.
     
  20. Moloch

    Moloch God of Wicked Games
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    72
    um my 6600GT did wmv-hd fine.
    You have a problem.

    So does the new purevideo accerate quicktime H264?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...