Next Generation Hardware Speculation with a Technical Spin [post GDC 2020] [XBSX, PS5]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Proelite, Mar 16, 2020.

  1. see colon

    see colon All Ham & No Potatos
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    488
    That only means that the system is working at it max (in this case, fixed) power (as in volts/amps) and not that the CPU and GPU are both under max load at max frequency.

    That could be true, but everything Cerny has said points to frequency being determined by load. I suppose clocks could be maxed when there is no load, but what difference would that make if, when you start using the system they drop in frequency. On a related note, I can turn invisible when no one is looking. Unfortunately every time someone looks in my direction, I turn visible again and they see me.
     
    blakjedi and PSman1700 like this.
  2. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,493
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    France
    Exactly. Naughty Dogs were already pushing the Jaguars in 2014 in TLOUR with their multi-threading / fibers engine (no main thread). They were already doing what Doom Eternal devs are doing...6 years later and they did it with not much ressources / time.

    http://twvideo01.ubm-us.net/o1/vaul...rling_Christian_Parallelizing_The_Naughty.pdf
     
  3. psorcerer

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    134
    And?
     
  4. AbsoluteBeginner

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    985
    Techpowerup is very unreliable. I wouldnt look into this until we get some devs closer to release who will give more info regarding this
     
    Mitchings likes this.
  5. Rockster

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    On my rock
    I guess we'll see, there is good evidence based on the latest die shot from MS that there are 5 asymmetrical shader arrays to match up with the 320-bit memory bus. 3 arrays, each with 10 CU's and 2 arrays, each with 8 CU's. 4 total disabled for yields.
     
    blakjedi likes this.
  6. psorcerer

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    134
    Asymmetrical chip design?
    We know that L2 and MCs are independent, and shared. But 56 CUs leaves no chance for anything other than 4 SEs.
    But it's off-topic, though.
     
  7. Rockster

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    On my rock
    L2 is tied to each 64-bit channel. 320-bit interface requires 5 x 64-bit channels. There is no requirement for having a power of 2 number of shader arrays. Each array would contain 16 ROPs and there are 5 arrays. Just an unequal number of CU's in them, 3 have 10, 2 have 8. Look at the die shot. I don't know how that leaves no chance.
     
    blakjedi and PSman1700 like this.
  8. psorcerer

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    134
    Yep. 5 channels. 4 SEs.

    Never seen an asymmetrical AMD chip. How will it connect?
     
  9. Rockster

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    On my rock
    To what? It's just a crossbar internally. You've never seen an AMD chip with more than 40 CU's either. Could be complete hokum but chip guys smarter than I think it's possible. So I'm not ruling it out. :D
     
    blakjedi and PSman1700 like this.
  10. Xbat

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    1,025
    Location:
    A farm in the middle of nowhere
    He also stated that it would maintain those clocks ( the clocks referenced in the reveal) most of the time.

    So he lied is what you saying?
     
  11. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,125
    Likes Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Finland
    No they're not tied. AMD's GPU L2 connects to Infinity Fabric, not memory controllers.

    (as side note, I know everyone keeps referring to them as 64-bit memory controllers, but are they really that? At least certain AMD slides suggest they're actually 16-bit controllers, which also fits the fact that GDDR6 uses 16-bit channels (other option would be 64-bit split into 4x16 "virtual" memory controllers but why list them as 16 separate MCs (for 256bit controller) then?)
     
  12. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,705
    Likes Received:
    7,342
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    It'd be a fairly major undertaking, not the least of which is porting from the original IBM SOI design rules while shifting to a much smaller node; consider for example the pipelining & stages needed to achieve a certain frequency with particular transistor design and everything changes on there from top to bottom.

    :oops: :embarrased:

    They may have to do some special designing too to make it slower just like IBM had to do for Xenon when they did the 45nm revision.
     
    #992 TheAlSpark, Mar 24, 2020
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2020
    DSoup, Mitchings and PSman1700 like this.
  13. Metal_Spirit

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    341
    Correct me if wrong, but this is how I see it!
    As Cerny stated colling systems are created on an estimated guess. Worst case scenarios, would go about the estimated power usage, creating overheating. This happens on a fixed clocks, variable power system, and also on this fixed power, variable clocks system.
    If that were not the case, the unestimated worst case scenario Cerny is mentioning would never happen.
    Remember that power usage is dependable of workloads, so even with fixed power, an excessive, not predicted workload would require more power.
    It's on one of those cases that that GPU will try and use CPU power.
    If available (CPU with low workload) it will use power from the CPU, and prevent the system going over the expected power usage.
    If not, it will downclock 2 or 3 percent, gaining 10% power, and keepting inside the budget.
     
  14. szymku

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    141
    He prefers to belive that PS5 GPU base clock is well below xsx target clock, despite the latter bigger apu. What can you do?

    There is common opinion, that PS5 will need expensive cooling. What about xsx thermal output? The biggest AMD GPU so far and fairy highly clocked. I don't think that ms can cut any corners there.
     
  15. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,209
    Likes Received:
    5,634
    From what they said briefly they did not care so much about cache hit rates vs just making sure work was spread evenly across all cores so all cores were working. So they may have lower cache hit rates than would be considered optimal and end up hitting DRAM more than they'd like. They did focus on data-oriented design, so cache and RAM were not an afterthought, just maybe second priority to keeping all cores busy and not having one core bottleneck the whole system.
     
  16. PSman1700

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    895
    Then one can wonder, why even bother. Just go with a 2% lower clock from the get go.

    Or just leave out even mentioning it, if it never happens anyway. XSX never downclocks, so don't mention it, its sustained then.
    Theres more to it, im sure.
     
  17. BRiT

    BRiT Verified (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    15,896
    Likes Received:
    14,803
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Microsoft has shown everything, the case and cooling. So have a look at the actual Xbox Series X cooling and make an informed judgment.
     
    DSoup, AzBat and PSman1700 like this.
  18. manux

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,141
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Earth
    Cooling is intresting because cerny alluded in past consoles they were guessing what the peak power output would be and planning for reserve. i.e. you get those games where console is ridiculously loud.

    PS5 should have fixed power budget which sony can optimize against. The remaining question is ambient temperature. For ambient temp sony can probably design against specific maximum temp and just say console will not work in hotter than let's say 40C.

    So if above is true it should be possible for sony to design a very specific cooling system where all important parameters are exactly known. Would it be expensive? Perhaps, but it would not be more expensive than what is exactly needed.
     
  19. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,581
    Likes Received:
    198
    Well, Cerny knows better than us than in a 33 ms frame time the CPU and the GPU are not fully used generally at once, the GPU usually kicks once the CPU finishes its heavy jobs. So I supposse that normally both CPU and GPU wont be fully utilized at the same time allowing the clock reduction to be only near 2% because the CPU in that moment is not at full occupacy. If both were fully activated in all its transistors Cerny said that the speed would be 3 GHz and 2 GHz respectively. He was clear in that point. He is quite smart indeed and has great low level engineering knowledge.
     
    #999 Love_In_Rio, Mar 24, 2020
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2020
    egoless, disco_ and goonergaz like this.
  20. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    10,783
    Likes Received:
    10,800
    Location:
    The North
    This is probably a fairly accurate assessment of what is to come.
    At 33 ms frame times, I don't expect there to be much CPU usage so for the most part I do expect the GPU to run at it's capped rate.

    I think this is where this setup will be fine, the setup for 60fps or greater titles is sort of the scenario that I'm looking at.
    I hope that most titles on PS5 are 60fps though (personal preference)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...