Next Generation Hardware Speculation with a Technical Spin [post GDC 2020] [XBSX, PS5]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Proelite, Mar 16, 2020.

  1. function

    function None functional
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    3,146
    Location:
    Wrong thread
    I'm assuming there isn't any additional DDR4 simply because they haven't mentioned it (yet! ). Even 2GB of DDR4 that was directly addressable by the main APU would be a game changer in this regard, and allow for a significant reduction in GDDR6 reserved.

    Come to think of it, didn't an early PS5 main board "leak" describe DDR4 mounts near the SSD....?
     
  2. PSman1700

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    3,197
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Almost certain there wont be any ddr4.
     
  3. disco_

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2020
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    212
    It's just those tweets people have posted.









    His tweets sound like someone curious about BCPack rather than someone who owns the tech.
    Bcpack allows Ms a compression of 2:1 while Sony has ~1.6:1. Is that of any significance if the raw speed is faster than compressed?
     
  4. Barrabas

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    374
    Location:
    Norway
    Yes there was a rumor, but I am certain that would have been brought up in Cerny's presentation if that was the case. Now I am interested to find out if there is anything in the talk about maybe the OS can be handled in the SSD?
     
  5. RobertR1

    RobertR1 Pro
    Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,774
    Likes Received:
    1,026
    Sony yields might be interesting to learn about and keep an eye on. 2.2ghz+ is a lot to validate en masse.
     
    xpea, disco_ and PSman1700 like this.
  6. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    2,018
    Thanks.
    I thought people meant someone else as they said the creator of it.
    He's obviously very knowledgeable, but he's just making educated guesses until we're told otherwise.

    Sony has gone into more depth now, so will be good to hear ms about audio, bcpack, VRS, any other customizations.
     
    disco_ likes this.
  7. PSman1700

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    3,197
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Very intresting the tweets on bcpack.
     
  8. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,308
    Likes Received:
    5,931
    If AVX is the culprit on those games, then it's most probably AVX1, which AFAIK is mostly 128bit operations.
    Cerny seemed to claim that 256bit operations (AVX2) were the biggest culprits for scaling up power consumption.
    Has AVX2 been in any PC game? That would make it incompatible with every pre-Haswell and pre-Excavator CPU out core out there.

    I'm yet to find a game that is incompatible with my Ivy Bridge E system, though I think that's bound to happen this gen with Zen2 being used as baseline.


    Cerny said Kraken with 5.5GB/s raw bandwidth is typically 8-9GB/s effective bandwith, but it can go as high as over 22GB/s. That's 4:1.
    At 17m23s:
    Code:
    https://youtu.be/ph8LyNIT9sg?t=1043
    He claims the SoC-embedded Kraken decompressor is doing the same job as 9 dedicated Zen2 cores. It seems to be a pretty hefty compression tech, and a hefty decompressor to make this work.

    Yes. 2* 4GB DDR4 next to the SSD complex and one 4GB DDR4 chip closer to the SoC.


    This was a presentation for developers. Whatever they put there for the OS to use internally is of little concern to developers..
    It's not that he couldn't talk about it (if it's there), but the presentation was already almost a full hour long and he didn't talk about a lot of things like the cooling system or HDMI 2.1 features or any peripheral.
     
  9. VitaminB6

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    217
    It'll be interesting to see what the typical clock frequency range will be on AMD's RDNA 2 GPU's. Maybe 2.3-2.5Ghz will be the norm for cards released to consumers?
     
  10. PSman1700

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    3,197
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Doubt it, not gameclock atleast. Higher end gpus most likely will be wider then 36CU count. Mid range perhaps, when boosted, to those speeds. Even then i doubt it, you usually dont design a gpu with rediculous speeds like that, there would be no room for any non-reference factory oc cards. And since were on pc, where the user might run whatever fps/settings where other problems could occur hardware related.
    But who knows, maybe we will see 2.5ghz midrange gpus running at their toes.

    There were rumors of monstrous die sized 80+ rdna2 gpus close to 18TF on hbm. One thing is sure, a gpu lile that wont run at those speeds.
     
    VitaminB6 likes this.
  11. Barrabas

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    374
    Location:
    Norway
    Certainly the amount of memory available for the developers is interesting.
     
    egoless, BRiT and VitaminB6 like this.
  12. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,308
    Likes Received:
    5,931
    AMD has claimed a 50% uplift in power efficiency for RDNA1 over RDNA2, to which they specifically mention higher clocks:

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    It remains to be seen how much of these 50% come from better IPC and how much it comes from higher clocks.

    The 5700 had a typical clock (game clock) at around 1700MHz. If you consider 35% of the total 50% improvements are coming from increased clocks, then we should expect a 5700 XT equivalent card at the same power budget to be clocked at 1700*1.35 = 2.3GHz like you suggested.



    Did he say how much memory is available to developers?
    Even if he did, it wouldn't say how much DDR4 the OS is taking for its features, e.g. for video recording.
    If the DDR4 is there
    .
     
  13. RobertR1

    RobertR1 Pro
    Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,774
    Likes Received:
    1,026
    Yes, AVX1. I don't think I've come across any AVX2 games. AVX1 is 256 but AVX2 expands the instructuion sets. AVX512 is 512 bit.

    On my 9900k @ 5ghz running P95 small the load is as follows:

    No AVX = 145amps
    AVX = 187amp
    AV2 = 198amps
     
    PSman1700, iroboto, function and 2 others like this.
  14. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,344
    Likes Received:
    5,927
    dictator does say it.
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  15. chris1515

    Legend Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5,000
    Likes Received:
    4,113
    Location:
    Barcelona Spain
    No this is true streaming work like this GPU scrubbers too and Xbox memory work like this. This is the same addressable memory the more you use the 6 GB/s more your bandwidth goes near 336 GB/s you need to let CPU and low frequency system inside this memory of no it will decrease seriously the bandwidth addressable by the GPU.
     
  16. Barrabas

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    374
    Location:
    Norway
    From about 12:40 in the presentation he says "most of the ram is working on the games behalf" not much to conclude from that, but anyhow the developers need to know the amount available. Most likely they are given this in the devkit documentation and he didn't feel to say it there. I still think it's a bit strange not to be clear about it in a GDC presentation.
     
  17. psorcerer

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    134
    1. I think NV has coherency hashing in their hw. Doesn't seem to help much though.
    2. I think most of the problems with RT come from: "what to do after" rather then "how to find the intersection".
    I.e. I suspect that main problems come from pretty random memory access patterns when doing any real sampling for materials on the objects.
    And BVH lookup is not that sequential either.
     
  18. disco_

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2020
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    212
    He is the founder of Binomial and BCPack is a Binomial product, unless I'm mistaken.
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  19. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    2,018
    Maybe it is a binomial product, but where did you hear that from?
    I didn't see anything in tweets that says that.
    Looks like he may have worked at MS at some point though.
     
  20. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    11,610
    Likes Received:
    12,545
    Location:
    The North
    you mean milli amps right ;)

    hahah 198 amps could charge 5 teslas simultaneously
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...