Neverending Upscaling/Resolutions/AA etc Thread #3 (Rules Post #1!)

Discussion in 'Consoles' started by Shifty Geezer, May 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,647
    Likes Received:
    5,754
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    And you've been told by one developer and two experienced individuals that it is the result of normal map compression. This is also ignoring the implication of your suggestion that Bethesda would create a separate texture for the PS3 edition for this particular, unimportant object.
     
  2. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...there are more scenes where 360 has different texture to ps3...
     
  3. kyleb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,165
    Likes Received:
    52
  4. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a minute...I'll find...
     
  5. MazingerDUDE

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the PS3 version of fallout3, the game was running much better than expected.

    In fact, I even feel that fallout 3 is a game that takes different approach to each system.

    Yes the 360 version's got AA, but a lack of specularity makes things look flat.

    Yes the 360 version is running at a steady frame rate, but at a cost of screen tearing.

    I might borrow the 360 version from my buddy, and try side by side comparison later today.
     
  6. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    The shot with the giant ant, texture underground, some page back in the thread. Sorry if I haven't post the exact link.
     
  7. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    The tearing there isn't on ps3?! Another strange fact...
     
  8. kyleb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,165
    Likes Received:
    52
    If you can't find the link you have in mind, I see no reason to epxect me to have any better luck. Regardless, I highly doubt the actual textures are any different.
     
  9. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
     
  10. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. kyleb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,165
    Likes Received:
    52
    You are really reaching there. The time of day and the position of the player in those shots aren't anywhere close enough to be able to identify or disprove any differences in the ground textures.
     
  12. Chisholm

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those are some horrible compressed shots and taken from a slightly different spot and possibly at a different game time, which changes the lighting dramatically, thus making any comparison pretty difficult to make.

    I don't really see the point in changing textures those textures at all. The differences, if any, should be attributed mostly to different compression or filtering.
     
  13. GarretASUS

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quantum of Solace appears to have 2xAA on PS3 version. Game defaults to 1080p on displays that support it. Unsure about actual resolution. Anyone know?
     
  14. Chisholm

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it look 605-610p-ish as Quaz already established for the 360 version? It wouldn't be surprising knowing that it uses the CoD4 engine.
     
  15. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    For reference the ant looks glossy like the PC screen during all those 'time of day' periods shown in the comparision on the PC version.
     
  16. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    Hey Nebula, perhaps you can answer this: is it me or is the HUD on the PC shot hz stretched compared to the console versions?
     
  17. dah145

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    it is completely missing on Xbox 360 version.
     
  18. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Not sure since I play the game in 4:3 resolution. Changing FOV doesn't affect the HUD size either. But for me it looks more upclose and big ~as that PC shot.

    Edit: Just noticed AA isnt applied onto the refracted weapon (cloak)!
     
  19. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    Seems so. The full list of mapping would be below. Maybe its skipping one or more steps.

     
  20. MisterTwoTurbo

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dark Sector PS3 uses the UE3 and I believe it's 1152x640 (no AA)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...