Neverending Upscaling/Resolutions/AA etc Thread #3 (Rules Post #1!)

Discussion in 'Consoles' started by Shifty Geezer, May 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Juan Panson

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow NG2 is one game where I definitely could not tell. It looks nice and sharp on my TV.
     
  2. Galduta

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    7
    Maybe photobucket. , 5 MB size limit if you have a count.
     
  3. bagofsuck

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    So NG2 resolution is based on the demo,are you guys going to do the same test for the retail version,to see if is also subpar 720p?
     
  4. assen

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Skirts of Vitosha
    Was there ever a game with different resolutions between demo and retail?

    In 99% of the cases the demo is produced AFTER the retail version master disc leaves for the factory...
     
  5. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    differente resolution (or even AA) between demo and retail it never hapen, never. it's a myth to let hope some disappointed gamers but zero chance for this. you can't change resolution at last moment (especially if it need tiling)
    but nevertheless i will test if you want
     
  6. Cheezdoodles

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,930
    Likes Received:
    24
    Saints Row got a 4x AA patch for SDTV's that wasn't in the demo :p
     
  7. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    SD mode isn't main video mode of the game, it's a neglected mode which can be easily optimized
     
  8. Cheezdoodles

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,930
    Likes Received:
    24
    Um, 8x AA is impossible on the X360.
     
  9. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    with supersampling, if a game run in 1920x1080 4xAA like NBA street you can make a AAx8 in 720p with a 1280x1440 AAx4 rendering downscaled in 1280x720 but it's preferable to improve just the framerate (like NBA street do in 720p mode)

    in SD mode it happen probably in some case
     
  10. vspectra

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    272
    Can someone get captures of the cutscenes in NG2 and see if they also run at 1120x585 or perhaps they run at 720p instead?
     
  11. Dominik D

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Wroclaw, Poland
    And why would they run on a different resolution?
     
  12. vspectra

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    272
    To look more crisp? The gameplay graphics in the NG2 have a certain fuzziness to them and it doesn't look as crisp as say DOA4 due to the resolution. It's kind of hard to tell in the cutscenes though.
     
  13. zarbaj

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
  15. Meckos

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for my english and the change of subject

    I have seen in Neverending Upscaling/Resolutions/AA etc Thread #2 some people who dont understand why the upscaling chips on the RSX have been remove...

    could it be the reason?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SpursEngine

    and firmware by firmware sony try to take advantage of this?
    why some game is upconvert and other not?

    thanks
     
  16. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    About ninja gaiden 2 eurogamer review says

    Is this possible? Does scaling tax hardware in any way or is it just their imagination?
     
  17. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,671
    Likes Received:
    5,761
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    They are probably seeing the effects of their display handling 1080i and 1080p content.
     
  18. Rockster

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    On my rock
    Affecting the frame rate? Huh?
     
  19. ultragpu

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,390
    Likes Received:
    1,610
    Location:
    Australia
    anyone remember what res does Sigma run at?
     
  20. zarbaj

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    check the sticky thread.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...