Neverending Upscaling/Resolutions/AA etc Thread #3 (Rules Post #1!)

Discussion in 'Consoles' started by Shifty Geezer, May 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,151
    Likes Received:
    6,489
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    They also had some options (heavy assumption that they are using FP10):

    1) 1280x720 + 4xMSAA + 32bpp + 32-bit Z requires 3 tiles. (28.1MiB)
    2) 1920x1080 + 2xMSAA + 32bpp + 32-bit Z requires 4 tiles (31.6MiB)
    3) 1920x1080 + 2xMSAA + 32bpp + 24-bit Z requires 3 tiles (27.7MiB)

    If they had chosen FP16, all cases above would require 5 tiles.

    For a top down game, I can't imagine that a 24-bit Z buffer wouldn't be enough to avoid z-fighting, so case 3 should be a viable option. Case 1 and 3 have similar distributions in screen space tiles i.e. each of the three tiles covers a similar percentage of the frame.

    So the only big difference between 1 and 3 would be in the higher load of pixel processing (2.25x pixels). And that is where it's puzzling - apparently the PS3 edition not only achieves the higher resolution, but also a more stable framerate. :???:
     
  2. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    I've got a question.

    For games that are native 1920x1080 on the PS3 and have AA (2x) for example, what happens when you have it in 720P mode? is it usually just a bump down in resolution or do you add more AA aswell? (1080P is more then double the pixels of 720P isn't it?).
     
  3. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    Likes Received:
    1
    Depends on the game...I know GT5p ups 2xAA to 4xAA.
     
  4. DaJuice

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    [strike]Now that MGS4 is out, what does everyone think of the route that Konami went with the native resolution?
    I have to say the game looks cleaner than I would have expected. Seems to me like 1024x768 upscaled to 1080p in software can look as good as 720p being scaled to 1080p by the TV set. Dare I say... even better? There's none of that smudginess that I sometimes notice with TV scaling.[/strike]

    Mod Note: This isn't the thread to discuss personal opinions on what looks better. -AlS
     
  5. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I found out how to get around the problem of the grey blacks on the original xbox games played on the 360.

    Aparently it has everything to do with scaling, here's an easy way for anyone to see for themselfs what I mean.

    Set your HDTV to 4:3 format with the black boarders on both sides and set the xbox to 720p via component in a cut scene or something that uses black bars on top and bottom or even in a black loading screen etc, compare the black of the game with the black of the tv bars and you'll notice that the black of the tv bars is much blacker.

    Now set the xbox 360 for 480p and test again the blacks will be as black as the tv bars.

    Don't use the VGA cable for this test it always looks grey (at least with me)

    This is a bit of context but anyway I remember some people before here hadn't noticed this and didn't know what I was talking about this is a way to see it and to make it work right, it does make a nice difference in overall image quality with this better contrast.


    Edit: I'm waiting for some nice guy here to test it to see if this isn't just my tv or something :p though it wouldn't make much sense to be the tv.
     
    #325 Hazuki Ryu, Jun 23, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2008
  6. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
    anyone got the spec for Ace Combat 6?
     
  7. Hardknock

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    53
    Has anyone checked Dead Rising's resolution and AA? I think there's a demo on XBL Marketplace.
     
  8. zarbaj

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    from what i recall, Killzone 2 is 720p Quincunx AA.

    and for some reason, Infamous reminds me of Banjo 3.
     
  9. zarbaj

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    i asked once, someone said that if it's not on the list then it's probably safe to assume it's 720p.
     
  10. catisfit

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I've tested Killzone 2 at 720p - again until release we can't be 100% sure of any game.
     
  11. Cheezdoodles

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,930
    Likes Received:
    24
    720p no aa
     
  12. warb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Dead Rising is 720p, with up to 4xAA like Lost Planet.
     
  13. Cheezdoodles

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,930
    Likes Received:
    24
    Isnt that only in cutscenes tho?
     
  14. Juan Panson

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing on Infamous yet?
     
  15. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,151
    Likes Received:
    6,489
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Screenshots are clearly 720p no AA
     
  16. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
  17. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
  18. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,151
    Likes Received:
    6,489
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Possibly from scaling 1080p to 720p.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...