Neverending Upscaling/Resolutions/AA etc Thread #2 *Rules: post: #616 *

Discussion in 'Consoles' started by TheAlSpark, Jan 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. obonicus

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. V3

    V3
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,304
    Likes Received:
    5
    I see, I think the monitor that VF5R runs on at the arcade are using the 1280x768 native. Shame they haven't added AA yet to this new iteration of the arcade version. Here hoping they do PC version eventually.
     
  3. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,441
    Likes Received:
    6,906
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    It's difficult with any compressed video feed... Why not just wait until it's closer to release or if there's a demo?
     
  4. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
    probably the same case as most PC games with Geforce 6 (HDR + no AA), Since Lindberg use geforce 6. And I highly doubt that they will ever port it to pc like ever.
     
  5. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    Likes Received:
    1
    Question that is prob obvious, but were there any sub-HD PS3 games before horizantle scaling was made available ? :)
     
  6. DrJay24

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,894
    Likes Received:
    634
    Location:
    Internet
    I think there were at least a few, COD3 was a launch title and it's sub 720P I think.
     
  7. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,134
    Likes Received:
    2,409
    Well I am still confused on the matter how does the PS3 scale the image to various resolutions? And if there is any hardware scaler?
     
  8. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    Likes Received:
    1
    B3d article says there is. http://www.beyond3d.com/content/articles/16/1

    And I've read both Ana and Hana don't upscale on 360 - they are just video encoders - all upscaling on 360 is done through the GPU.

    So PS3 has scaler and 360 doesn't :)
     
  9. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,134
    Likes Received:
    2,409
    That makes me wonder though. Because the games I ve seen running on some HD TVs looked "wrong". They looked kind of pixelated and aliased. Imagine the image you get from a low res video.

    I also get to hear that the 360 handles better higher resolutions on HD TVs.

    edit: also the article you provided sounds more like a software method than the hardware doing the work automatically and comes at a cost
     
  10. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    42,961
    Likes Received:
    15,061
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    No. Revisit the old ANA/HANA article with Dave's contributions. The (H)ANA isn't scaling, but the GPU has scaling hardware. PS3's effort is simplistic - XB360 definitely has the edge in scaling hardware, which is ironic as it's using it less than PS3 is!
     
  11. catisfit

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is amazing how the 360 scaler somehow evaporated... :roll:

     
  12. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,134
    Likes Received:
    2,409
    And??? Help me out here! I am trying to learn :lol:

    Thats very ironic since Sony was aiming to make the PS3 a HD device, but omitted effective and efficient hardware scaling? They were marketing it as such.

    But instead the 360 seems to do it instead.

    Still....what on earth is that SCC doing in the PS3? Is it related?
     
  13. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    Likes Received:
    1
    Your quotes are wrong :)

    Amir Majidimehr, Corporate Vice President, Microsoft Corporation, Consumer Media Technology Group, Mobile and Embedded Devices Division says this about that exact article:

     
  14. catisfit

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Except when it's scaling everything to that 1080p resolution that no-one would need this generation :razz:
     
  15. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I've done all that...so how am I wrong. 360 uses GPU....what does PS3 use? That B3d article says the PS3 does have a hardware scaler....?
     
  16. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    42,961
    Likes Received:
    15,061
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    You mean the PS3 solution? I don't think that's ever been properly disclosed. The B3D article is as I recall a theory, looking at the limitations of the scaling exposed via the Sony libs and leading to the conclusion it's a (gimped/busted?) hardware scaler.
     
  17. catisfit

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    They're not my quotes, they are Microsoft quotes.

    So how is your quote below true?

    BTW that job title is massive :razz:
     
  18. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,134
    Likes Received:
    2,409
    :lol: that surely sounds optimistic. If true what was Sony thinking?
     
  19. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine is more reliable because it's after your quotes and refers to those quotes directly disproving them. Ana and Hana aren't upscalers, they are video encoders. 360 upscales using GPU.

    Yeah, one day we'll all have such long job titles. One day. :D
     
  20. catisfit

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the idea was they wanted games to be native 720p or 1080p, instead of taking the easy option and using the hardware to upscale a lower resolution.

    Didn't exactly go to plan, did it :grin:

    So the 360 has no hardware scaler, because the GPU does it :?:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...