Neverending Upscaling/Resolutions/AA etc Thread #2 *Rules: post: #616 *

Discussion in 'Consoles' started by AlBran, Jan 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
    so the AA in Uncharted is the temporal AA or something like DMC4? Only works on static image? Cuz I dont see any blur like DMC4 does in Uncharted though.
     
  2. Strange

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    It should be normal 2x MSAA, or else people would have caught the ghosting effect
     
  3. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,721
    Likes Received:
    5,815
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    and let us all recall that 2xMSAA is far from perfect - only certain angled polygon edges will get the AA shades.
     
  4. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    To complicate matters, Uncharted definitely does have motion blur though.
     
  5. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
    depth of field yes, definitely not much motion blur at all in Uncharted. Depth of field blur certian object depends, not the same as motion blur. It would be interesting to see the same 2.5 D motion blur from Lost Plant in Uncharted though, I think.
     
  6. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Come now, just rotate the camera real quick and keep rotating. You must see it.
     
  7. Jedi2016

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, he was right.. it's DOF. I noticed it playing through the game, and mistook it for motion blur at first, but then I realized that it simply kicks in the DOF and blurs the background when you do really fast movements like that.
     
  8. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    it's a basic camera motion blur effect, if you have a pause mode on your TV it's easy to see (but use their DoF process for help motion blur effect)
     
    #88 Quaz51, Jan 30, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 28, 2008
  9. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    For resistance i see quincunx on the Lossless Richard Leadbetter HDMI screenshot
    it's not really visible on TV but on this screenshots it's clearly visible
    Insomniac say in their new PDF than Resistance use 2xMSAA buffer but i think it's not contradictory, Quincunx use 2xMSAA buffer, quincunx is just the name of the method used for resolve final AA process
     
  10. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    #90 Quaz51, Jan 30, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2008
  11. Dot50Cal

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
  12. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    I'm trying to learn this game, so in advance of Quaz I'm going to suggest 1280x720 MSAAx2 and HDR (looking at the 'enhanced' contrast/aliasing on the wooden railing against the see backdrop).
     
  13. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
  14. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    yes
     
  15. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    and Fifa street X360 is 1920x1080 too, and AA 4x like NBA street, it's the same 3D engine
     
  16. betan

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,721
    Likes Received:
    5,815
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    PS Home looks like 2xAA. Very very faint AA shades on the sliding frame.
     
  18. Darkon

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    3
    How about F1 CE ?
     
  19. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    I played the new turok demo on xbox 360 2 or 3 days ago and i've noticed that if you set your xbox to a 16/10 resolution like 1280x768 all the other games will be stretchet on a 16/10 monitor same as when you use 1280x720 16/9 res, but turok didn't in 1/10 resolution it just added bars on top and bottom and the image was perfect not stretched I'm gessing this is all up to programers i just felt like sharing
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...