Neverending Upscaling/Resolutions/AA etc Thread #2 *Rules: post: #616 *

Discussion in 'Consoles' started by TheAlSpark, Jan 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. djskribbles

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    667
    the PS3 version isn't soft at all.
    this is what phil has to say on the matter.
     
  2. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    on the demo ingame i seen more edge with no AA visible on the X360 version than PS3 version, for exemple i can take a photo of one edge that have visible AA2x (and classic MSAA, not exotic method) on PS3 version and no AA visible on X360 version, the same edge on the same object
    but i don't compared cut-scenes (it's more difficult) which are different rendering/AA perhaps (majority of Gaf screenshot comparaison are Cut-scene screenshot)
     
    #42 Quaz51, Jan 25, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 25, 2008
  3. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    ok i see the problem...
    the PS3 version have a persistence effect (blend frame + frame -1) that blur the image in movement, no persistence effect on the X360 version (thanks pause mode on my TV) why? i don't know
    but the two version are 720p MSAA 2x and same texture resolution
     
  4. ngkane

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys.

    Uncharted Drake's Fortune : 960 X 1080p with 2x AA ? is it true ?
     
  5. Strange

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    Yes, only under 1080 mode though
    in 720p mode it's 720p with 2xAA if I recall correctly
     
  6. chris100

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.watch.impress.co.jp/game/docs/20070131/3dlp.htm

    Capcom uses "2.5D Motion Blur" to make a 30fps game(Lost Planet) looks like 60fps one.

    A simple version of Motion Blur used in PS3 DMC 4?
     
  7. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    no, it isn't Motion Blur, just persistence frame and the both version are 60fps
    i don't know why this effect, i prefer without
     
    #47 Quaz51, Jan 25, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 25, 2008
  8. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    for AA, one exemple of edge with MSAA 2x on PS3 version and no AA on X360 version (I take this photo on the first second of the demo, the right lamp of the door at beginning of demo, the photo is rotated)
    of course it's not persistence effect, no movement on this screenshot, it's just classic MSAA

    [​IMG]


    I see that just on this edge, majority of all edge are MSAA 2x on both version
     
    #48 Quaz51, Jan 25, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 25, 2008
  9. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    i think that i know why persistence effect... for temporal AA?
    maybe odd and even frame have an half pixel shift rendering (and no AA) and when blend frame with frame -1 that make exactly the same effect than a MSAA 2x ... for static context only, in movement they are just persistence effect that blur the image
     
    #49 Quaz51, Jan 25, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 25, 2008
  10. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    that also can explain why they are AA on my photo in the PS3 version and not in the X360 version
    this type of AA by temporal frame blend make equivalent SSAA on static scene, not MSAA, and for line on alpha-coverage primitive the classic MSAA don't work, just SSAA. i think this graphic element is in alpha-coverage
     
    #50 Quaz51, Jan 25, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 25, 2008
  11. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,891
    Likes Received:
    11,483
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    As I mentioned in this post regards dot50cal's screengrabs, it's clear there's a large motion effect in operation in this image ...
    [​IMG]

    Bottom left shows a 3 pixel offset (in NE/SW direction I think) which isn't uniform across the screen. This to me suggests blended frames as you said. If the persistence effect is for temporal AA, it has quite a nasty side effect!
     
  12. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,891
    Likes Received:
    11,483
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    [modhat]We're getting OT with DMC4 talk here. Please keep that to the DMC4 thread.[/modhat]
     
  13. Blade47167

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    WTH :(, it doesn't look anywhere near that good on either of my TVs...
     
  14. DaJuice

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm very certain Uncharted doesn't feature any AA at all. Not in 720p mode nor when forcing 1080p.
     
  15. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    34
    Then they're doing a hell of a good job hiding jaggies, cus I hardly see any on my 42" 1080P tv from about 7' away.
     
  16. DaJuice

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Image quality is what's really lacking in some of these next-gen titles. Uncharted for example is a beautiful game by any measure, but man... on my 1080p set those swimming jaggies are a real eyesore.

    *Copied from other thread*
    -Al
     
  17. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    I think it has 2xAA (wasn't it metioned by Quaz51 in the previous thread?) but also bloom and low contrast between object colors and fog will help a lot.
     
  18. DaJuice

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    For me the jaggies are very visible on this title. 32" 1080p set... 3' away I'd say (it sits on my desk).

    A screeny here that show the lack of AA..

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,685
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Which mode are you running? 1080p or 720p? For many people, 720p looks better even if you have a 1080p TV, because 1080p support in Uncharted was added at the last minute only really to make sure the game runs on 1080i only TVs that don't support 720p.
     
  20. DaJuice

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running it at 720p. It looks like ass in 1080p mode, not sure what the actual frame buffer size is, probably 960x1080. I remember also comparing Assassin's Creed in 720p vs 1080p and it fared much better because of the AA, it only looked softer compared to 720p.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...