Neverending Upscaling/Resolutions/AA etc Thread #2 *Rules: post: #616 *

Discussion in 'Consoles' started by TheAlSpark, Jan 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    That picture might have been cropped 8 pixels, which would make its original resolution 1024x768. But isn't that 4:3? and that wouldn't make much sense with a 16:9 game/console. me thinks the picture has been altered.
     
  2. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    #422 Quaz51, Apr 23, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2008
  3. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    Why would you do that?, wouldn't be better just to do a software upscale. It doesn't make much sense imo, I think something funky is going on.
     
  4. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    i think this type of rescaling isn't game rescaling but rescaling after grab screenshot of course (website or Konami...)
     
  5. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    which falls in line of my definition of 'something funky'.

    After comparing to some shots at IGN. It would appear to me they are 1280x720 downscaled to 640x360 and then blown up again.

    http://au.ps3.ign.com/dor/objects/7...triots--20080402095435301.html?page=mediaFull
    vs
    http://img.jeuxvideo.fr/photo/01050144.jpg

    The IGN native is 640x360 it seems.
     
  6. Juan Panson

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    so for sure its 1024 for horizontal?
     
  7. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    no IGN screenshot like this is 1024 native too, not 1280

    http://ps3media.ign.com/ps3/image/a...4-guns-of-the-patriots--20080402095453472.jpg

    and the downscale before the upscale on the blurry series seem only on vertical, not horyzontal, i'm quasi sure
     
    #427 Quaz51, Apr 23, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2008
  8. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    nothing is sure with incoherent screenshots galleries like that
    some screenshots are natively 1024 but i don't know the credibility and the origin of this screenshot
     
    #428 Quaz51, Apr 23, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2008
  9. Juan Panson

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    what about the april fools video?
     
  10. Statix

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read my post more carefully. I never said that a low target output resolution was indicative of low programming talent; I said that OVERALL low graphical QUALITY was a sign of low programming talent.
     
  11. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France

    on the 720p april fool video it's difficult too but i seen vertical edge natively 1024
    for vertical resolution i don't know

    http://upsilandre.free.fr/images/MGfool1.jpg
    http://upsilandre.free.fr/images/MGfool2.jpg

    EDIT: vertical resolution seem also little over 720p like a "jeuxvideo.com" screenshot, MGS4 natively 1024x768 but anamorphic in 16/9??
    remember VF5 PS3 is natively 1024x768 in 1080p output
     
    #431 Quaz51, Apr 23, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2008
  12. Statix

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    FYI, render resolution doesn't have to coincide with screen aspect ratio. For instance, many 16:9 PS3 games run in 960x1080, which would be 8:9 ratio. GT5:p runs in 1280x1080, which would be 6:5 ratio.
     
  13. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    now my better hypotesis is 1024x768 native resolution like VF5 PS3 in 1080p output
    1024x768 anamorphic is equivalent to an isomorphic 665p , it's sub-720p but more than Halo3 and others (COD4 is equivalent to 588p )
    please, just hypotesis, not affirmation...
     
  14. Juan Panson

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    well thats a bit better but its still sub 720p. out of anyone i thought kojima would deliver the goods this gen.
     
  15. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    Likes Received:
    1
    TTP of Gaf, who's had his hands on the game, has some interesting things to say. He says the game is very clean, surprised at Edge's comments about the AA...and says it's a very solid 30fps. This is from the guy who complains about GT5p framerate non-stop...and he is impressed by MGS4's framerate. So that's good :)

     
  16. Statix

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, so MGS4 could possibly be 1024x768. That's actually a fairly respectable resolution. I couldn't have predicted that at this point in time I would actually be glad about MGS4 being 665p (1024x768), but look where we are now. I would just be glad as long as it's not 1024x576.
     
  17. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    Likes Received:
    1
    If 1024x768 is 665p, what's 1024x576?
     
  18. Quaz51

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    France
    1024x576 is 576p :)
    it's already a 16/9 isomorphic resolution

    you can't name "768p" a 1024x768 resolution, it's anamoprhic resolution but 1182x665 is the same pixel number and isomorphic then we can say 1024x768 is "665p" equivalent
     
  19. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    Likes Received:
    1
    O.K. Thanks Quaz :oops:
     
  20. grandmaster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    1024x768 seems like an awfully arbitrary resolution to choose from. What advantages would there be to Konami for doing it?

    It's a 15% loss in pixels, so obviously a bit of a speed gain there, but surely going for 1024x720 (a 20% drop in pixels) and using the hardware scaler to expand to 720p would be a faster way of doing things with much the same quality result?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...